Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2010, 10:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fried optic bord


I preformed routine maintenance vacuuming /filter replacement on ref. 106.52602100. Then there was no ice being made. Checked the optic LED, the light is not flashing. Pulled optic receiver #2198586. The large chip is melted. What are my options for the fix?

mr202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 09:20 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

fried optic bord


Get a new board through repairclinic.com, a local source, or manufacturer. Not much else you can do. If the chip melted, that means that either the inverter went bad because of poor manufacturing, or you got a surge, which means get a whole house surge protector installed. I lost a stove control board because of a surge, same with a microwave during the 2006 Ice storm. Since we have installed the protector, and pretty much have all appliances with protection strips or outlets, have not had a problem since.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 05:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fried optic bord


Thanks, now the second board shorted out as soon as the refrig was turned on.
mr202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:22 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

fried optic bord


That would be a fridge problem, which means contact the manufacturer. If a newer fridge, then something is wrong. Has any other electronics in the house having problems, or problem with dimming lights?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fried optic bord


I haven't seen any other electrical issues. The frig is on its own circuit. All the other electronics are working on the frig. I think it's a 2002 model frig. Is there anything I coud have hit while vacuuming?
mr202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 03:35 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

fried optic bord


Static Electricity built up around the vacuum wand while using it near the board.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 06:22 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fried optic bord


I understand the static stuff. I wasn't around the board with the vac and the frig was unpluged. Since the 2nd board is fried I'm at a lost of what to do with it beimg an 02 model. Thanks for your help on this.

mr202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
min depth for fiber optic cable underground? MusicMan_234 Electrical 5 01-30-2009 01:32 AM
Fried GFCI DirtSquirt Electrical 6 11-07-2008 01:48 PM
My Brain is Fried! movick724 Electrical 7 06-01-2008 12:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.