Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-25-2012, 09:23 PM   #1

Share |

Fridgaire Gas Dryer Issue

I recently purchased a dryer of of kijjii and had someone install a gas line and i used the thing maybe 3 or 4 times, i went to the back of the unit today and installed a few clamps on the back to secure the hose and tried to use the dryer again and for whatever reason i get nothing. The thing is probably 5-6 years old. I checked the breaker and the made sure all cables were secure. Everytime i press the start button i get nothing. Any ideas or suggestions? im not an electrician but im hoping its not something too serious. Possible problem with the starter? not get anything after i press it.

thanks for your help.

Vman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:38 PM   #2

by the way FGR231CAS1 is the model

Old 09-25-2012, 10:11 PM   #3

Hard to say without doing any sort of checking.

Is the gas turned on? Is there power? Are you getting power to the switches? Are you getting power to the gas valve?
Protocol. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:33 AM   #4

yup gas is on, checked the breaker. It was working and now suddenly isn't
Old 09-26-2012, 06:56 AM   #5

Door switch?
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:06 AM   #6

doesn't look like any damage there. but how can you tell?
Old 09-26-2012, 07:54 AM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN

[quote=Vman94;1017645]doesn't look like any damage there. but how can you tell?[/qu

your not going to be able to tell by looking at it. You will need an ohm meter to check for continuity. Other possible problems would be the timer, or the thermal fuse
Old 09-26-2012, 08:55 AM   #8

is it that little plastic thing the dryer latches into to. The metal piece that goes into it. Or that little button with a spring that pushes in and out?
Old 09-26-2012, 09:13 AM   #9