Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2012, 07:30 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Share |
Default

freezer not freezing


Hello,
I have an Admiral NT17B8A that frosts up between the freezer and fridge. It seems to work fine for two to three months then I can see frost buildup on the coils at the bottom of the freezer. Right now th freezer stuff is soft and I need to manually defrost.
I have advanced the defrost timer and it seems to work. Is there a heater in this area I need to check?? If so, how do I do it??
Thanks

nbmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:22 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 408
Default

freezer not freezing


Quote:
Originally Posted by nbmech View Post
Hello,
I have an Admiral NT17B8A that frosts up between the freezer and fridge. It seems to work fine for two to three months then I can see frost buildup on the coils at the bottom of the freezer. Right now th freezer stuff is soft and I need to manually defrost.
I have advanced the defrost timer and it seems to work. Is there a heater in this area I need to check?? If so, how do I do it??
Thanks
Sure if they are like most others their is a long tube with a coil inside i bet it is burnet out. Look for it it should be in their with wire nut's or hard wired if not been replaced yet. You can change these your self if you are a good diyer . Find a supplyer and take it with you and the model number also . should be no trouble putting it back. Just with wire nuts should be find. Also you say that you advanced the defrost timer and it seems to work. Now maybe the defrost timmer is not running ??? if it get's stuck in the defrost than the coil's will not cool ?? Check that also a few things to check. If you can't come up than a service call is in order

del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 07:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
sleepyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 29
Default

freezer not freezing


Defrost heater is out! Go to www.searspartsdirect.com and look up your freezer's model number and look at the diagram. You can see the way to get to the part from the picture. Not a hard fix, just take your time and make sure you unplug it!
sleepyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 07:52 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

freezer not freezing


Thanks for the guidance.

The defrost heater arrived yesterday. It did not come with the defrost shield.
I don't remember if the shield was on top of or under the heater. My guess is on top so the heater doesn't melt the styrofoam insulation. Also, does the defrost thermostat need to touch the coils, or just be in the area of the coils?

Thanks again.
nbmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 07:59 AM   #5
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,511
Default

freezer not freezing


shiled goes on top and thermostat must be attached to coil
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:31 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

freezer not freezing


Thanks.
I reinstalled the heater with the shield on top and ran the unit for a few hours. I tested the defrost cycle to make sure the heater came on and I think it got too hot as I smelled some melting styrofoam. How close should the thermostat be to the heater? The thermo cycles on at 30F and off at 80F according to the web.
Is the heater too hot? I installed #60106-34 as a replacement for 60106-25.
nbmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:38 PM   #7
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,511
Default

freezer not freezing


was the aluminum foil shield still in tact?
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:56 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

freezer not freezing


yes its not glued on anymore but i set it on the coils between the styrofoam. is there a right side up?
nbmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:59 PM   #9
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,511
Default

freezer not freezing


nope, should be good to go.
__________________
................."I want a house that has gotten over all its troubles. I dont' want to spend the rest of life bringing up a young and inexperienced house"...........
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 02:51 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

freezer not freezing


Thanks to all it seems to be working fine!!!

nbmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kenmore Freezer not freezing completely rich kahl Appliances 2 05-12-2011 09:14 PM
Freezer is not freezing dmjordan Appliances 3 12-04-2010 10:45 AM
freezer side of frige keeps freezing up rdbm1945 Appliances 1 12-21-2009 08:16 PM
Freezer on top, not freezing any more. kgphoto Appliances 7 06-23-2008 10:00 PM
Freezer not freezing moneymgmt Appliances 4 05-30-2008 11:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.