Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2010, 01:05 PM   #1
Enormous Member
 
skipjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Freezer not cold enough at "normal" setting...


I just got a Frigidaire refrigerator about 6 months ago and when the guys who delivered it plugged it in, they apparently put the setting on the "coldest" setting and left.

I never thought about it until a week or so ago when I found a half frozen loaf of bread the back of the fridge. So, I moved the thermostat to "normal" because.. well... that's what I want.. normal operation. However, just last night I noticed that the freezer didn't seem real cold. Ice cream was soft... it's been taking forever for the ice maker to make ice.. etc..

So, this morning, I threw the outdoor sensor for my weather station in the freezer and it only read around 29 degrees (!?!?). So, I cranked it back to the "coldest" setting and left for work. (I've only got the one thermostat control in the fridge part)

This doesn't seem right to me that being on the "normal" setting is barely below freezing in there. I do keep it pretty cool in my house... around 64 degrees.. but that shouldn't cause the fridge to not kick in, should it?

I'm going to check it again tonight and dig out my warranty info. Is there anything I should check on the fridge before I call? Like a clogged intake or something?

The only other weirdness I've had with this fridge was, for the first week of use, I got these weird little icicles on the ceiling of the freezer near the front by the ice maker... I was just about to call someone about it and then I noticed they were evaporating on their own and wrote it off as something to do with the moisture in the ice maker or something.



skipjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:36 PM   #2
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Freezer not cold enough at "normal" setting...


just a guess and a bit of info. The fridge works off of the freezer. There is a mechansim (fan or convection i'm not sure) that will move the air from the freezer to the fridge. I have heard of situations when the fridge is not cool enough that it was over loaded or the vents between the fridge and freezer were blocked and the cool air flow was restricted. Not sure if thats related but I thought I would toss it out there.

Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Freezer not cold enough at "normal" setting...


Does it have an auto-defrost ?
We bought a semi-commercial version freezer & that does not
Once a year we empty it & thaw it out

If the fan area froze up then its not pushing out cold air
Usually you would hear the fan hitting ice before it freezes up
I had to take the back of the freezer of (inside) to thaw out on fridge/freezer when this happened
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrigerator not cold but freezer is thehvacguy HVAC 8 11-09-2009 06:47 PM
cold setting starts heater on new thermostat jayres HVAC 3 10-20-2009 04:26 AM
Kitchen Faucet Cold Water Runs Hot Mthrboard Plumbing 8 08-02-2009 06:59 AM
Fridge cool, but not cold on highest setting ernivy3 Appliances 2 04-06-2009 09:35 PM
Freezer not cold enough trupok Electrical 2 08-14-2008 09:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.