Dtv Converter Has Noise On All Channels - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 04:55 PM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dtv converter has noise on all channels


not only does it have hiss/buzzn every channel, even ones with 100% signal, the volume on the converter does not do ANYthing all the way up or down, and if i turn the dumb thing off, it has to rescan all the channels again for ten minutes! any ideas on the noise? i googled it and i see i'm not the only one, and it's not just my brand of box either.

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!

Last edited by DangerMouse; 02-11-2009 at 04:58 PM.
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 07:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

dtv converter has noise on all channels


You may need better grounding. Get a length of wire, say, 16 gauge, bare is OK, to connect your converter box, your TV, your surround sound amplifier if any, etc. to each other and connect the far end to a known ground. Generally a good way to make each connection is to use a screw that holds the converter box cabinet together, holds the TV cabinet together, etc. The screw that holds the cover on a wall electrical outlet, or a pipe inside a baseboard radiator should be an acceptable ground.

How is the converter connected to the TV (what cables)?

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-11-2009 at 07:04 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 08:03 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dtv converter has noise on all channels


coax that came with it

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:09 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

dtv converter has noise on all channels


OKAYYYY!! i figured out how to make it work! all channels perfect now. (never DID find any help with google)
what i did was (please send $20.00 US for answer) hehehehe, oh wait, that was another thread....
i swapped out the crappy coax and used good quality RCA jacks for audio and video. turned TV to AUX1 and scanned, all's well now, no more hiss and buzz in the audio! i hope this answer will help others that will likely have the same problem!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Rheem 90+ is making a strange noise. Draft inducer? shinkansen HVAC 1 01-09-2009 09:38 AM
power line noise sciguy125 Electrical 5 12-02-2007 02:39 PM
water heater noise boman47k Plumbing 5 11-28-2007 07:31 AM
GE side-by-side making a whining noise jkrodger Appliances 2 09-11-2007 03:45 PM
Toilet making Noise DSHMSH Plumbing 1 12-22-2005 05:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts