Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2007, 09:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

dryer woes...


Hey guys, new to the forum but looks awesome.
My problem is as follows. Just moved into a new home (actually a 100 year old building) All Electrical has been recently updated however. I brought with me my washer dryer combination which runs off a 3 prong 220 cable and luckily there was already one installed. I tried plugging the dryer in and for some reason it seems like its not getting enough power. i ran a 2 wire tester at the outlet as well as at the terminals attached to the dryer and they both read 220. is it most likely something wrong with the dryer or could it be something with the wiring?? im no sure but i think they ran the 220 using !4 gauge wiring. even though it still reads 220 at the outlet could that be something that affects the dryer?? any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks

cisco10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 08:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 0
Default

dryer woes...


Why do you say it is not enough power?

too long to dry cloths?
motor spin slower than before?
or other indication?

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 06:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

dryer woes...


OK well as recommended by the electrical side of this forum i switched out the wiring to the outlet from 14 gauge to 10 gauge. This didnt do anything though im glad i changed it because it could have posed a fire issue. Here is what this damn thing is doing:
Dryer only works when Washer is set to the on position, and only when it is in rinse setting, Washer only starts working when dryer is switched on and quits as soon as i release dryer on switch. I should note that this is a combination washer dryer with a 3 prong 220 connection. It is a newer kenmore but i do not know the model number and it is almost impossible to get behind it to tell. any help would be greatly appreciated. I at least want to know if it is something wrong with the unit or the power getting to it.
cisco10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 03:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Rewards Points: 0
Default

dryer woes...


Did it work properly where you lived before? Not real familiar with combo's. Stacked set? I have had a couple of them, but do not remember them having the regular dryer plug on them.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer on the fritz.. wiring problem? cisco10 Electrical 17 11-19-2009 01:26 PM
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 04:33 PM
Problem with ELECTRIC DRYER plugs SpaceCrawler Appliances 6 06-03-2007 10:21 AM
Location of 220 and 110 outlets for dryer and washer JAJJ Electrical 2 08-07-2006 09:16 PM
wiring for a dryer irish_hood Electrical 4 01-11-2006 01:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.