Disposal & Dishwasher Stopped Working - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 12:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


Both appliances stopped working at the same time. Initially I checked the breaker and it had tripped, so I reset it and confirmed that the outlet(s) are working. I tried resetting the disposal, but no luck. So at this point I assume that either both appliances are fried or I'm just overlooking something.

BTW, there was a close lightning strike that fried phones and computer components in my house. Do large appliances on a GFI get fried?

I am looking for suggestions for the next step. Electrician? Plumber? Replace both?

Advertisement

dwinter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:47 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,828
Rewards Points: 1,170
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


Is there a GFCI receptacle under the sink that is tripped?

Advertisement

DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:52 AM   #3
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


There may even be a plain old Buss fused receptacle under the sink that the appliances are plugged into. That is the case in my older home.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:57 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


I may be incorrect about it being a GFI outlet. I looked and it's just a regular outlet. No reset on it. There is nothing else under there than I can see and I have plugged in a lamp to both sides of the outlet and confirmed they are functional.
dwinter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 10:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


GFCIs aren't the best with big electric motors, so the codes don't require them for a disposal (last I checked).

could it be that they both have some of internal specialized GFI, and you have a ground fault?
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 10:49 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


I suppose that's possible. I have a new disposal being delivered next week. I'm not competent enough to operate on the electronics myself.
dwinter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:16 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


you could try them both with extention cords to other, seperate, circuts.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 12:28 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


forresth.... Simple yet brilliant! I hadn't thought to try this, but I now know that the appliances are functional and that i need to troubleshoot the electrical.

Is this something that is safe for an amateur to continue to troubleshoot or should I call in a professional at this point?
dwinter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 12:27 PM   #9
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,299
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


"dwinter13" IF you have confirmed that the units do indeed work by using an alternate power source method: Then I would say that IF you do not have some electrical experience with tracing circuits it would be beneficial to have an electrician come out. There is also a likely situation that these units receive power via an electrical outlet upstream. The outlet may have fried and not be allowing the circuit to continue on to these units. So many things to check. David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 09:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


So many things to check, indeed. I was overwhelmed with the multitude of possibilities, but having a path for troubleshooting is helpful. Thank you all for your help. I'm likely going to call an electrician out to complete the process though.
dwinter13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 10:18 PM   #11
Member
 
lloydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Disposal & Dishwasher stopped working


I helped a lady at work with the exact same scenario. I traced it to a wire that had burnt the tar out of a wire nut in the outlet and had come apart.

Advertisement

__________________
Broken Arrow hvac Broken Arrow Air Conditioning
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit stopped working, breaker did not trip nr5667 Electrical 7 07-08-2012 04:31 AM
Working Garbage Disposal Required for Dishwasher benchmarkman Appliances 4 10-01-2009 08:50 AM
SImple Simple Dishwasher and Garbage Disposal Connection tabasco Electrical 2 08-06-2009 11:13 PM
Best way to hardwire Disposal and Dishwasher theatretch85 Electrical 6 04-14-2009 11:59 PM
garbage disposal and dishwasher power amakarevic Electrical 11 10-06-2008 07:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts