Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-24-2010, 09:04 PM   #1

Share |

Dishwasher replacement

Hi everyone-

How difficult is the replacement of an old dishwasher for a new one? This is for a rental property I have, and I've never done any plumbing before. If it's easy enough I'd give it a shot but don't want to risk doing it wrong since it's not my own residence. I was thinking of buying a $200 model and don't want to spend $150 getting it installed. Thanks a lot!

-Greg

c00rdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 09:29 PM   #2

Dishwasher replacement

I replaced mine fior rental last year. I too opted for $200 model and saved on deliver/install by doing mysefl.

The instructions were pretty thorough and the install was pretty easy. Do you have disposal?

make sure you measure the space, ensure new d/w is level and depending on age reverse the removal of old for install. My biggest issue was with inlet and the diff btwn the old and the new. I had to buy a new elbow I believe...

Good luck!! Save the money and DIY!!

Han'D' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 12:12 AM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Dishwasher replacement

They are usually pretty easy. You might have to buy some plumbing connection kits. But no big deal. Do measure so you get the right size though.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 08:59 AM   #4
Household Handyman

Dishwasher replacement