Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-19-2007, 06:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Dishwasher with no plug?

Bought a nearly new dishwasher with no plug just wires, instructions say white-blanco--to white blanco...black negro to black negro...etc.
I understand...seems simple enough, then of course the ground wire.. but since I have an outlet for the dishwasher, I went to buy 3 prong plug with pigtail, center green/striped (says ground) but there is no color code on the outside wires when I peel back the plastic cord? In other words no black or white...so...I'm confused. How do I know which side is correct on the new cord? Thanks

Jeanbarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 10:12 PM   #2

Send a message via Yahoo to sjjacks

Dishwasher with no plug?

I must state that I am not a licensed electrician, but I have wired houses of my own and I believe my answer is correct.

If you wish to connect the dishwasher to a plug, you should get a junction box and fasten it to the floor under the dishwasher. Bring the black and white wires (and if there is a ground wire, bring that also) into the junction box. If you buy a plug, it will most likely not be a polarized plug but it should be a grounded one.. Bring the wires from the plug into the junction box. Connect the ground to the ground with wire nuts and connect the white dishwasher wire to one of the wires coming from the plug and connect the black to the other, using wire nuts. These connections are all within the junction box. Then plug it in. Remember to use the screw in connectors on the junction box and tighten the wires so if someone pulls on the plug it doesn't strain the wires. If you want a polarized plug, you might buy an extension cord an cut the plug end off, giving you a nice plug and color coded wires.... :-)

sjjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2007, 11:33 AM   #3