Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 01:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Dishwasher has no power to it.


I have a dishwasher that has been used very little and was almost new when I moved in. It was working fine and then one day there was no power to it. The control panel always has a light on it when it is receiving power. A repairman looked at the dishwasher and said the unit is fine and it is just not getting power. The circuit breaker was not tripped. Any idea what to look for next? Thanks.

mrdaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 04:50 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Dishwasher has no power to it.


You'd think the repairman would have fixed it.... is there a user-replaceable fuse?

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 07:44 PM   #3
#1 HAWKEYE FAN
 
hardwareman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,545
Default

Dishwasher has no power to it.


first off you need a new repair man, I would never leave a customer hanging like that. Did he take the bottom access panel off and actualy verify no power coming into the dishwasher at the junction box? If he did and you really have no power there then you will need to hire an electrician to find out why.
hardwareman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:20 PM   #4
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Dishwasher has no power to it.


Check for a switch under the sink. Would look like a standard wall switch or may have a fuse in it. Been to alot of houses where someone has thrown somthing under there and hit the switch.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 10:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Freeport Maine
Posts: 484
Default

Dishwasher has no power to it.


is the unit hard wired or a plug in? could the dishwasher be plugged into a GFCI outlet, or an outlet that is GFCI protected at some other location? if so, it may have tripped for some reason.

in my last home, there were a chain of exterior outlets that stemmed back to a GFCI in the basement. more than once i had problems with them, and it always turned out to be the one GFCI being tripped.

Last edited by 1910NE; 10-16-2010 at 10:10 PM.
1910NE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.