Commercial Range/Griddle Cleaning/restoration - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-17-2011, 03:18 PM   #1
jxr

Rewards Points: 10

Commercial Range/Griddle cleaning/restoration

I have a Garland g286 Range that I picked up from someone local here during their remodel. Everything is said to work, but I really wanted to give it a good cleaning before I installed it in my home.

I'm going to be cleaning the stainless still with just a mild detergent with a soft cloth, but as for the burners I'm not sure. They seem to be made of iron and since they're not the cooking surface I'm assuming I can use some aggressive. I was thinking maybe using ammonia then using a high temperature coating/paint on them?

This is my first attempt so please if I'm way off let me know. As for the griddle its showing some rust. I've seen places that sell a cleaning kit for it but it costs nearly $120 bucks.

Theres not much information online about stripping a griddle. Once doing so I'll reseason it and I know that will keep rust away, but I gotta clean it really good first. I've heard some people would sand it or grind it.

So I guess my major questions are how to clean the burners and if I should paint them?

How to clean the griddle?

Thanks I'm exciting about getting this oven back in service!

Link to full album here ... https://picasaweb.google.com/Joseph....eat=directlink

Advertisement

jxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 06:30 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Don't worry about the burners to much. The metal is thin so any attempt to clean the rust off may lead to a hole, and render it useless. Blow them out is about all that I would do.

Advertisement

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 06:36 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500