Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-10-2010, 09:13 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Coke vending machine problem, hvac techs take a look

alright, first off nice to see there's a forum like this, i'm a HVAC trainee in trade school. anyways I was taking a look at a vending machine, original complaint was that the condenser fan motor wouldn't come on, I replaced the current relay and the condenser fan came on and ran and the compressor as well, as far as i knew, problem solved. Well I get a call back saying the evaporator coil was frozen solid, I pulled out the evaporator to find 2 bad evaporator motors, replaced and rewired now, i forgot to mention the first time i tried to wire it i had it wrong and it shorted out and tripped the breaker all 3 motors run but the compressor tries to come on every 10 or 15 seconds but doesn't, it's I'm thinking I either burned up the start capacitor or it's wired wrong it's rated current is like 6.00 amps, I put my amp meter on it only to find it's drawing like 0.10 - 0.15 amps when trying to start, you can hear the compressor give a little poot as it tries to start. I checked the compressor to ground and it's not grounded. What do you guys think? Appreciate all the answers and opinions. by the way, here's a link to compressor data http://www.panasonic.com/industrial/...110K27CAU6.pdf

tamar120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:16 AM   #2

bump?

Old 04-11-2010, 10:35 AM   #3
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

I moved this to Appliances where you'll likely get a speedier response. Not an HVAC question.
The doctors will be in shortly to assist you.

DM
Old 04-12-2010, 06:47 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 500