Clothes Washer Will Not Start Cycle - Appliances - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2007, 01:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Clothes Washer Will not start cycle


Whirlpool 8200 series, about 12 years old.

Worked yesterday, today nothing. Confirmed that power at outlet is at 120V. Checked lid switch for continuity and it's good too. Dial selector/timer switch will not engage at any point in any cycle.

What should I check next?

Advertisement

allenzachary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 11:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Texas
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Clothes Washer Will not start cycle


I'm no repair person but one time the inside of the plastic knob stripped out and so the little spindle thing couldn't turn. Does the plastic knob turn freely? If so it's about $15.00. If it is the timer, could be about $80 + installation by the washer guy. Check the internet [have your model number ready, everything seems easier to research with it.]

Good luck

Advertisement

shapeshifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 10:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clothes Washer Will not start cycle


Did you find a resolution? My Kenmore 80 Series washer is doing the same thing -- it simply will not start all of a sudden. I checked the plug, the fuse, the pipes, the dial, the tub... what could this be? It worked just fine last night, but this morning... nothing. Any hints?
amgar88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 10:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Clothes Washer Will not start cycle


I wish I could tell you the solution. My guess was a loose connection somewhere in the top of the console. I removed the console, wiggled all the wires, (which all seemed tight and making solid connections) then frustrated, put it back together. Once it was reassembled I plugged it back into power, just to confirm it was still dead. Ba da bing. It was working again and has ever since. Weird. I can't tell you at all what was wrong. Could have even been the main 120v plug was partially out of the wall socket. I have no idea....
allenzachary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 10:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clothes Washer Will not start cycle


Thanks for your reply. I did the same thing last night, following lots of online diagrams and advice columns. I had the same outcome... wiggled some wires, made sure everything was tight, cleaned out a few years of gunky soap that had dripped into the console... and this morning I am doing laundry again. I feel like I conquered the thing, without knowing what the heck I did, so it's a win with an asterisk next to it.
amgar88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Clothes Washer Will not start cycle


Sweet! Glad I could help...such as it was.

Happy laundering!
allenzachary is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to allenzachary For This Useful Post:
wiley65 (01-11-2011)
Old 01-11-2011, 09:57 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clothes Washer Will not start cycle


The washer was working fine, then went to put clothes in dryer only to realize that the washer had not advance from the water filling cycle. Replaced the water level pressure switch, then put timer to spin cycle and it began to spin and drain. Put the timer at the beginning of wash cycle and it went through the whole wash and spin cycle. Went ahead and put some more clothes and washed three loads. On the forth time to wash, it had just filled the wash tub but did not advance to wash. I moved the timer to spin, but nothing happened. Checked the outlet and has power. The power cord has power to the first connection under the control panel.

Advertisement

wiley65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Washer drain peloncito Appliances 7 08-04-2007 01:56 AM
Kenmore Top Load Washer gone Crazy ! kourso Appliances 1 07-09-2007 12:48 PM
dish and clothes washer drainfield rosiesunimind Plumbing 1 02-11-2007 05:41 PM
Comfortmaker GNL won't start Hollandpiper HVAC 2 10-10-2006 03:37 PM
Location of 220 and 110 outlets for dryer and washer JAJJ Electrical 2 08-07-2006 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts