Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-24-2011, 05:47 AM   #1
The Moose is loose.

Rewards Points: 75

Can I put a rug under my electric stove?

I know this may be a stupid question, but I honestly don't know. I'm a first time home buyer so I am new to a lot of common household situations.

The problems is this: the kitchen in my house has linoleum flooring that is about 90% ok (real ugly though) but there are some bad parts around the stove that are eye sores. I was wondering if I could just put the stove on a rug and cover it completely up until we can save to have the flooring re-done.

If I can't use a rug, are there any other solutions for this problem? Thanks in advance!

MooseWoodworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:57 PM   #2
#1 HAWKEYE FAN

Rewards Points: 1,000

rug under stove will be fine

Old 03-31-2011, 06:18 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

i'm new here so i assume everybody here knows more about stuff than i do. but here's my two cents...
1. seems to me rug is more of a fire hazard
2. rug absorbs grease and food spills, breeds ROACHES
3. a sheet of 1/4-in pvc would look nice, clean up well. i bought some 4x8 sheets in '97 for abt $45 ea, slip-resistant textured one side, smooth the other- don't know what they cost now.

Last edited by oldkentucky; 03-31-2011 at 06:24 PM.
oldkentucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:29 PM   #4
Household Handyman

Rewards Points: 1,008

Be sure to let you home owners insurance people know you do this, they will be glad to raise your rates for the fire hazard. Sorry to be facetious, but you get the point. I would not put a "rug" made from cloth, nor carpet under a range.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:20 PM   #5
#1 HAWKEYE FAN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post