Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2010, 11:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 275
Share |
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


LOL. Yes I know how to boil water but this is really just a rant about gas stoves. As a kid I grew up with a natural gas stove but over the last 15 years I've used electric exclusively. During the last 15 years I've learned to cook and after purchasing a new home with a gas stove in december I've become hugely frustrated with the simple act of boiling water. Frying and other stove top cooking hasn't been much different, but I put a pot of water on to make pasta the other day and it seemed like it took forever to boil. I had the flame on it's highest setting and it looked like a pretty healthy flame. But it took like 15-20 minutes for that pot of water to roll. With my old electric range the same pot of water would've been rocking in 5 minutes or so.

Is this common with a gas stovetop? The range is a GE range which appears to be about 10 years old. Still looks to be in good shape. But 15 minutes to boil water! WTH? Any tips on making teh water boil faster?

speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 04:41 PM   #2
Member
 
toeey1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 52
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster1 View Post
LOL. Yes I know how to boil water but this is really just a rant about gas stoves. As a kid I grew up with a natural gas stove but over the last 15 years I've used electric exclusively. During the last 15 years I've learned to cook and after purchasing a new home with a gas stove in december I've become hugely frustrated with the simple act of boiling water. Frying and other stove top cooking hasn't been much different, but I put a pot of water on to make pasta the other day and it seemed like it took forever to boil. I had the flame on it's highest setting and it looked like a pretty healthy flame. But it took like 15-20 minutes for that pot of water to roll. With my old electric range the same pot of water would've been rocking in 5 minutes or so.

Is this common with a gas stovetop? The range is a GE range which appears to be about 10 years old. Still looks to be in good shape. But 15 minutes to boil water! WTH? Any tips on making teh water boil faster?
I prefer gas cooktops but unfortunately I have electric. Perhaps your burner is faulty because 15-20 minutes seems very excessive.

Are you at a high altitude?

toeey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
BJ
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tampa
Posts: 83
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


Someone I worked with purchased the second best stove that Sears sold. He told me that several servicemen had come to his house to attempt to determine why the stove's front burners worked normally while the back burners shot out a large amount of flame. I asked him if he was using propane of natural gas. When he said propane I new what the problem was. I told him that propane had a lot more power than natural gas an tha the orafices on the rear burners ere made for natural gas and that was why they were shooting out so much flame.

His wife was needles to say a bit ticked that the Sears service had not been able to determin such a simple problem. They replaced the stove with the best model that they sold.

If you aren't hooked up to the correct gas for the stove you could be getting much less flame than your should. I've been electric for some time, but as I remember as gas burner of full blast will shoot flames about an inch or so above the grill
BJLower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 275
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BJLower View Post
Someone I worked with purchased the second best stove that Sears sold. He told me that several servicemen had come to his house to attempt to determine why the stove's front burners worked normally while the back burners shot out a large amount of flame. I asked him if he was using propane of natural gas. When he said propane I new what the problem was. I told him that propane had a lot more power than natural gas an tha the orafices on the rear burners ere made for natural gas and that was why they were shooting out so much flame.

His wife was needles to say a bit ticked that the Sears service had not been able to determin such a simple problem. They replaced the stove with the best model that they sold.

If you aren't hooked up to the correct gas for the stove you could be getting much less flame than your should. I've been electric for some time, but as I remember as gas burner of full blast will shoot flames about an inch or so above the grill
Thanks for the suggestions. As I said, the flame coming from the stove appears to be a nice strong flame. I've checked all 4 burners and with the naked eye they all seem to be the same strength.

If I use a frying pan to cook an egg or anything else the gas burner seems to cook at a comparable speed to my old electric. It's just the act of boiling things that seem to take forever. As long as I can remember I've already heard the gas stove tops were superior to electric electric stove tops and electric ovens were superior to gas ovens (hence the expensive duel fuel ranges available). I've baked bread and pizza in this gas oven and it seems to be on par with my old electric. It's just the rediculously long boil times thats getting on my nerves.

Is there a way I can measure the amount of BTU's being output at the stove?
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:11 AM   #5
Insert catchy title here
 
AppleMac*Fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 79
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster1 View Post
Is there a way I can measure the amount of BTU's being output at the stove?
Just find the model number of your stove (should be a sticker in the frame of the bottom drawer) and Google it. You should be able to find the owner's manual for your stove. That should list the BTUs.
AppleMac*Fit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:22 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


it's not you. on a 4 burner stove you have one high burner but unless it's a higher end model it will take forever to boil a large pot. if you replace the range look for one with high BTU burner.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:41 AM   #7
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


You've been spoiled with your quick cooking electric! :D
I have an electric and it takes 10-15 minutes to boil a 2-quart pot, 20-25 to boil a dutch oven.

But, the others sound right - a gas should be quicker than that, actually - my old cheap-as-it-gets gas stove in the other house would really crank up the heat.
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:53 AM   #8
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


other variables could also be the size of the pan, amount of water, etc... if the burner is all the way up and the pan is smallish, the heat goes around the edges and will not boil as fast as it would if you lowered the heat so the flame is under the flat of the pan.... or use a larger pan.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:16 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 275
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


I'm using the same two pots I used on my electric stove. One is a cuisenart 6 quart pasta pot that is stainless steel with a copper-clad bottom. The other is a heavy 6 quart Le Crueset enamel covered cast iron pot that I use for soups and stews. Both pots have bottoms large enough that the flame does not wrap up the sides of the pot.

I could understand a little if the cast iron pan took longer to boil water simply becuase it's heavy iron. But I'd think the copper clad pasta cooker would be abel to boil water faster.
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:40 AM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


yeah, you'd think so.... hmmm

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 11:21 AM   #11
Master Joatmon
 
Chucky Jesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 28
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


Speed,

Remember from chemistry lab that the hottest part of the flame is at the tip of the cone inside of the entire flame. Too high or too low and you're not getting the best heat. Adjust the burner so it looks like this and you should get better results:
Attached Images
 
Chucky Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:12 AM   #12
ojc
Newbie
 
ojc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 21
Default

Boiling water on gas stovetop?


The wife and I purchased a new GE Profile gas range and it DOES take a long time to boil.

Although i love the chemistry bunsen burner pic, it seems that most of the flame blows out the side of the pan, unless you have a big bottom (spinal tap anyone?)

ojc
Attached Images
 

ojc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 12:15 AM
low hot water pressure angus242 Plumbing 10 01-08-2009 11:41 AM
Low Hot Water Pressure btennant Plumbing 4 12-09-2008 09:31 PM
No Hot Water comeing out of Faucets gangstacro Plumbing 5 11-30-2008 03:32 PM
help Chuckman Off Topic 8 06-15-2006 10:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.