Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2011, 07:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


OK, this is going to sound strange, but bare with me.

We recently moved into a new house and the dryer outlet was a 3-prong outlet. Our old house was a 4-prong outlet. So I buy a new plug and swap them out. No problem. However, we used to put the dryer on 30 minutes and a load of pants would be smokin hot when it was done. With the new 3-prong plug, we set it for 30 mins and they're still damp when it finished. It now takes close to an hour to get the pants dry.

So my question is, is there a difference between plugs? Could a 3-prong plug really cause an increase in drying time? Could it just be coincidence that the dryer started having problems just as we moved? What other factors should I look at to see if it's the cause (vent hose?)?

thaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:26 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,777
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Check the vent to make sure it is not blocked or kincked.
If the receptacle wired correctly, you will not see any difference in preformance.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,323
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


agree 240 volt element 3-prong 4- prong same voltage.....apply previous post from jbfan...ben
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 36
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Ok, will check. Could length of vent hose be an issue? The laundry room is in an area of the house that has the roof sloping down - so the hose goes through the wall, through about 4 feet of "attic" and then outside.
thaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:35 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,777
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Lenght of run, number of 90's all play a factor.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (11-30-2011)
Old 11-30-2011, 08:37 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,303
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


What should have been done is to run a whole new 10-4 wire back to the panel to match the new 4 prong outlet.
Sounds like you now have it wired for 110 volts not 220.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 36
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Ok, not any 90's, but the length of run is much longer than the old house.
thaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Quote:
Originally Posted by thaKing View Post
Ok, not any 90's, but the length of run is much longer than the old house.
Got the manual for the dryer? Mine told me what the max run would be and how to count the bends.

How could there be no 90s? That flex crap is a fire hazard. Remove it if that is the case.

check to make sure you don't have a hot and a neutral reversed or something.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 36
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


How can there be no 90's? I assume you mean angles, am I correct? If so, well it's easy - it goes straight out the wall. If 90's mean something different, please correct me. Pretty sure wires are connected correctly, but I can check again.
thaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 04:48 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: phila.
Posts: 504
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


If you went from 4 to 3 prong-you *must* reconnect the cabinet ground strap that was disconnected when it was a 4 pronger[shock hazard]..you don't give brand or model # but clothes should never have been "smokin hot" at end of cycle [they all have a cool down period]. if they were- somethings wrong. you can only use the flex hose from dryer to wall-from there it has to be rigid [fire hazard]. easy way to check vent is; disconnect from dryer and run a load of towels-45/60 min...each 90* equals about 5' vent.
Jacques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 09:11 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 36
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


I'm going by memory here, but the 4 prong had a ground "built-in" and when I connected the 3 prong, there was a ground wire on the dryer that had to be re-attached. Is that the strap you're referring to?

Brand - LG, don't have model number with me.

Sorry, when I say "smoking hot" I meant nice and warm, fresh from the dryer "hot". Right now, they are coming out cold and a little damp. So we are running it longer than we used to run it.

I've attached a *crude* drawing of the setup. Green is dryer and red is flex hose. It runs through interior wall out to exterior wall and ends. Are you saying that is incorrect? We should have a rigid line in there (which is a fire hazard?)? And the distance here is 10', for arguments sake. So this would be 2 90's?
Attached Images
 
thaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


replace the flex pipe in the wall ASAP. that might be part of your problem too if there is lint build-up.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 36
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Ok, so flex from dryer to interior wall, but replace from interior wall to exterior? Replace with the fire hazard pipe?
thaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:49 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,737
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Use rigid metal all the way. Do not use screws. Use metal foil tape. If the problem continues, also check the belt on your washing machine. Perhaps it was jostled during the move, and is not adequately spinning the clothes.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 01:52 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 36
Default

3-prong vs 4-prong dryer plug


Hmm, ok. Never used the rigid, always the flexible. I'll have to check that out then. Thanks.

thaKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4prong dryer receptacle to 3 prong plug (6-15p to 14-30r) ChronPaul Electrical 11 11-26-2011 07:01 PM
3 prong to 4 prong dryer conversion ccm9fc Electrical 2 11-01-2011 10:41 AM
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 01:07 PM
Installing a 4 prong dryer plug Amandamayes Appliances 4 07-16-2010 01:17 PM
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate Electrical 8 08-10-2008 04:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.