Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Appliances

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2009, 09:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chicago area
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

is 20a outlet required for a fridge?


Is a 20a outlet required for a fridge? and if so does it have to be the only outlet on a 20a breaker? What about a microwave, should that be on a 20a dedicated outlet? Can there 20a and 15a outlets on one 20a breaker? I know its a few questions but I want to get a good feel for this whole breaker , outlet, circuit thing, thanks for any suggestions.

mrpep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 09:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

is 20a outlet required for a fridge?


Fridge is not required to be dedicated but a good idea, my 26 cu ft is on a 15a dedicated circuit
Built in Microwave does require a dedicated circuit as I understand
A 15a circuit can't have 20a outlets
A 20a circuit can have 20's & 15a (duplex) that are rated 20a pass thru
You can't have a single 15a receptacle on a 20a circuit

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 09:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chicago area
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

is 20a outlet required for a fridge?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Fridge is not required to be dedicated but a good idea, my 26 cu ft is on a 15a dedicated circuit
Built in Microwave does require a dedicated circuit as I understand
A 15a circuit can't have 20a outlets
A 20a circuit can have 20's & 15a (duplex) that are rated 20a pass thru
You can't have a single 15a receptacle on a 20a circuit
you say built in microwave requires a dedicated... this is a silly question but what about counter top microwave? and is 15a ok if so?
mrpep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 09:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

is 20a outlet required for a fridge?


Kitchen counter requires (2) dedicated 20a small appliance circuits
Your counter top MW can plug in there
But I am adding a 3rd 20a circuit where my counter top MW will be
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 09:21 AM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
Range outlet required? A for Effort Electrical 6 07-21-2009 08:15 PM
Moving a Fridge, is a dedicated circuit required...or not? Snowy334 Electrical 7 07-03-2009 01:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.