Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2013, 03:10 PM   #1
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,778
Share |
Default

window motor


Anyone ever change a window motor on an '85 econoline? Just wondering if the regulator has to come out. Some years they do, some they don't. The regulator is installed with rivets. I hate drilling those out.

__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

window motor


A number if years back I did my '91 and didn't have to take out regulator. I think the body styles were the same till '92.

But that's been a while back and my memory of it's a little dim. I know watcha mean about them dang rivets

RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 03:38 PM   #3
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,778
Default

window motor


That's what I keep running into. The Haynes book has nothing on it. And some people say it has to come out, some say it doesn't. Would like to know before I tear it down. It's a custom van, all kinds of stuff to take off just to get the panels off, and I have to get it done in one day.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Owasso OK
Posts: 347
Default

window motor


Best up just get to it and have your drill and bit ready to go!
RoyalAcresRod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 05:43 PM   #5
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,778
Default

window motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyalAcresRod View Post
Best up just get to it and have your drill and bit ready to go!
Probably what I will do. A tree fell on my car a couple months ago, so this is my work truck and daily driver.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 02:37 PM   #6
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,690
Default

window motor


Don't they sell the rebuild kits with the replacement gears? I seem to recall they are like $8.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:36 PM   #7
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,778
Default

window motor


A gear kit is $20, but you still must pull the motor. And a new motor is only $46. with gears.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:52 PM   #8
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 561
Default

window motor


  1. Disconnect the battery ground.
  2. Remove the door trim panel.
  3. Disconnect the window motor wiring harness.
  4. There are 2 dimples in the door panel, opposite the 2 concealed motor retaining bolts. Using a 1 / 2 in. drill bit, drill out these dimples to gain access to the motor bolts. Be careful to avoid damage to the wires.
  5. Remove the 3 motor mounting bolts.
  6. Push the motor towards the outside of the door to disengage it from the gears. You'll have to support the window glass once the motor is disengaged.
  7. Remove the motor from the door.
  8. Installation is the reverse of removal. To avoid rusting in the drilled areas, prime and paint the exposed metal, or, cover the holes with waterproof body tape. Torque the motor mounting bolts to 50-85 inch lbs. (6-10 Nm). Make sure that the motor works properly before installing the trim panel.
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:06 PM   #9
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,778
Default

window motor


I'll try it, but on a Ford like mine, step 3 is impossible until the motor is loose. You can not reach the wiring harness. And all three motor bolts are concealed.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:24 PM   #10
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 561
Default

window motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty baker View Post
I'll try it, but on a Ford like mine, step 3 is impossible until the motor is loose. You can not reach the wiring harness. And all three motor bolts are concealed.
There are 2 dimples in the door panel, opposite the 2 concealed motor retaining bolts. Using a 1 / 2 in. drill bit, drill out these dimples to gain access to the motor bolts. Be careful to avoid damage to the wires.

Get a friend with small hands to disconnect wiring. Also, this was for 1500 Econoline. They have 2 more models, I just wild guessed.
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:51 AM   #11
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,778
Default

window motor


No dimples. Just lots of rivets. Don't know which ones too drill out.
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 01:10 PM   #12
Pro Flooring Installer
 
rusty baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 3,778
Default

window motor


Where did you find the diagram?
__________________
The ads in my post are there without my permission. I do not endorse any of the products.
Semi-Retired Installer
Installing since 1973
rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:46 PM   #13
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 561
Default

window motor


sign up with autozone account, it's free. you will have access to repair manuals.

now, my serious advice is - if you plan on keeping this car for any extended period, sign up for DIy account with Alldata. That's what pros use for repairs in shops. DIY account is 40 bucks for 5 years. That's, mi amigo, EIGHT DOLLARS a year. Nothing.
Also, comes with support. You miss something - you dial a number, or send email, they fetch it for you.
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:47 PM   #14
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 561
Default

window motor


http://www.alldata.com/

http://alldatadiy.com/

ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ELectric motor issue RWolff Electrical 23 06-22-2013 12:41 AM
General window install questions miamicuse Windows and Doors 9 04-23-2013 08:05 PM
How to 'finish' outside of replacement window? KatieAK Building & Construction 9 04-02-2010 06:37 AM
help need to know how to replace windows wrapped in drywall caide3 Carpentry 4 03-02-2010 12:41 PM
Replace old window with smaller window Suncrest79 Building & Construction 3 04-15-2009 08:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.