Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-30-2011, 12:28 PM   #1
Pro Flooring Installer

Share |

Transmission sensor?

2006 Dodge Caravan. The transmission slipped while shifting into 4th a couple times a few days ago. Have had no problems since. The Transmission was dealer serviced 4000 miles back, fluid is clean and full. I was a certified Toyota tranny mechanic 40 years ago, but know nothing about a Dodge. Is there a sensor that could be going out?

rusty baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 03:29 PM   #2

Transmission sensor?

there might, or might not. and if yes, there's prolly several of them.
reason I said not is you may have what they call a virtual sensor. basically, to cut costs, they do not use physical sensor, but ECM "figures it out" based on multiple parameters collected off other sensors.
did you try to google your trannie sensors? at least, it tells you if you have one.
out of curiosity, what you did for 40 years, after you "were" certified Toyota tech?

ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 03:32 PM   #3

Transmission sensor?

yeah, you do have physical sensors, though they may not be the culprits.
here's handy article for you:

http://www.newprotest.org/details.pl?1410
Old 10-30-2011, 03:38 PM   #4

Transmission sensor?

http://www.usatransdoctor.com/Domest...swers.htm#A604
Old 10-30-2011, 04:39 PM   #5
Pro Flooring Installer

Transmission sensor?

Thanks for the info. Just drove it again. It's working fine now, so guess I'll just see what happens.
Old 10-30-2011, 04:50 PM   #6

Transmission sensor?

pour some Lucas treatment in. Not too much, just a little bit. good medicine.
Old 10-30-2011, 09:20 PM   #7

Transmission sensor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rusty baker