Radiator Hose - Automotive Repairs - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2013, 07:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


I just changed water pump and radiator toy chevy 1500 truck everything looks great but the hose going to the radiator on top of thermostat it shrinks when I shut off truck, why??? When I take off radiator cap it goes back to normal is everything running properly??? What is it??? Help

Advertisement

bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Radiator hose


Buy a quality hose, you could put a spring in it, but it should not have a spring in there.

Advertisement

paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


Do you think it's the cap? It's not venting properly??
bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,728
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Radiator hose


New hose?
I always change all the hoses and belts when I change the pump. Got them off anyway.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


I did that I changed all hoses,
bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


Or do you think it's the thermostat????
bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:45 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,728
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Radiator hose


If memery serves me the top hose is suppost to be the one with wire in it.
No wire, it collapes and can cause over heating.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 08:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


Ok I will change it out, thank you
bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,187
Rewards Points: 1,630
Default

Radiator hose


The suction hose has the spring wire. Ever see a stat with little hole about not much bigger than a needle. I wonder what the purpose of that hole is.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:25 AM   #10
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,814
Rewards Points: 2,262
Default

Radiator hose


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairview View Post
The suction hose has the spring wire. Ever see a stat with little hole about not much bigger than a needle. I wonder what the purpose of that hole is.
Ayuh,... That's an air bleed hole, so's the block will fill as ya fill the radiator....

The bottom hose from the radiator is the suction side, block water is exhausted to the radiator through the top hose...
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:27 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


So do I need to get different hose??
bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 03:13 PM   #12
Member
 
r0ckstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 1,337
Rewards Points: 982
Default

Radiator hose


Quote:
Originally Posted by bostonwindows30 View Post
Do you think it's the cap? It's not venting properly??
Yes. Change the cap. They are cheap. Your cap is not allowing the cooling system to pull in coolant from the overflow bottle, creating a vacuum, and collapsing the hose.

Last edited by r0ckstarr; 03-11-2013 at 03:15 PM.
r0ckstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to r0ckstarr For This Useful Post:
Windows on Wash (03-12-2013)
Old 03-11-2013, 04:57 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


So do I need to change the hose???
bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 06:47 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Radiator hose


No it will do that as it cools. As stated if you have an overflow tank make sure the hose is clear and replace the cap
cjm94 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:03 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Radiator hose


Will do, thanks for the help

Advertisement

bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts