Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 07:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 223
Share |
Default

Problem with new taillight assembly


I just put on a new taillight assembly from Certifit, and the backup light and brake lights won't work. The turn signal is fine. Where the bulbs plug into the connectors, it is rusty. What do you guys suggest to clean the rust? I assume the rust is the problem. It's a 2003 Chrysler Town and Country. Thanks.


Last edited by Jim McC; 06-27-2013 at 07:49 PM.
Jim McC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 253
Default

Problem with new taillight assembly


Get a new connector pigtail. You will never get all the corrosion off and destroy the new light assy.

cjm94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 223
Default

Problem with new taillight assembly


Thanks. Where do I get one? What's involved in switching it out?
Jim McC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 06:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 253
Default

Problem with new taillight assembly


Might be able to get one from a better parts store. Or the dealer should be able to. It will have a short length of wire attached. Then use butt connectors that have shrink wrap built in to prevent corrosion at the connection.
cjm94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 223
Default

Problem with new taillight assembly


Thanks. Before I go to that trouble, is there a way to make sure the new taillight assembly isn't bad? It has 3 separate bulbs, by the way(Brake, backup, turn signal).

Last edited by Jim McC; 06-28-2013 at 10:14 AM.
Jim McC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 85
Default

Problem with new taillight assembly


Just go to the dealer and buy new sockets, there not easy to look up but if you find someone that knows what there doing they can find the part number, at first they will tell you that you will need the asm. but a TSB came out on replacing the sockets.


Last edited by kwikfishron; 06-29-2013 at 05:28 AM. Reason: Removed link
streetneons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with toilet (vent problem?) branch155 Plumbing 24 03-09-2012 09:37 AM
Boiler Question regarding Pilot Relite Control & Ignition Electrode Assembly stevepatts HVAC 0 02-22-2012 08:42 PM
flame sensor problem junkcollector HVAC 1 12-09-2009 08:19 AM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.