Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 06:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Power Probe 3


How many of you mechanics use the Power Probe 3 or the LOAD pro dynamic test lead for automotive electrical?

Fudog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 06:52 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 248
Default

Power Probe 3


I use the power probe 3. Worth every penny.

cjm94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:26 AM   #3
Cape Cod, MA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 56
Default

Power Probe 3


Im still using my power probe II. It hasnt failed on me yet.
capecodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:15 PM   #4
F-16 DIYer
 
qslim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Eglin AFB
Posts: 31
Default

Power Probe 3


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudog View Post
How many of you mechanics use the Power Probe 3 or the LOAD pro dynamic test lead for automotive electrical?
I have a power probe, but it doesn't look like it's the 3... Just says Power Probe on the box... I dig it, worked on cars professionally for about 12 years. It's the kind of tool you don't use too often, but when you do it really comes in handy. Having a single probe you can use to test for continuity and also switch power and ground saves a lot of time.
qslim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:52 AM   #5
Cobra64
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Power Probe 3


I was a tech for 25+ years and now teach Auto Mechanics in a college. What I wouldn't have given to have one back when repairing cars. It is a required tool for every student. It is so versitile and you NEVER have to worry about having a good ground or good power as you can inject either one as you need it. Should be rated as one of the top 5 tools every tech should have for doing electrical diagnosis (and who doesn't do electrical anymore?)
jB
Cobra1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 08:32 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Power Probe 3


I use my Power Probe almost every day to diagnose electrical problems on the industrial equipment I work on. If you are working on 12/24 volt systems, it speeds up troubleshooting greatly! Almost indispensable if you are a professional. A little pricey for the DIY'er.
CATliftTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 10:40 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Wisconsin
Posts: 388
Default

Power Probe 3


Yep, I have a Power Probe II and use it at least 3-4 times a week. Especially on trailer lights/brakes etc. Comes home with me every weekend.
Marqed97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Power Probe 3


In my opinion, something like that can be easy to understand and easy to use, but for advanced electrical diagnostic work, you should also understand how to use a digital and analog multimeter and an appropriate capacity amp meter. (They sell 10 amp capacity amp meters in auto parts stores which would work fine for a model-T, but not today's vehicles!)

I only use multimeters and high amperage amp meters which can read at least 200 amps.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 06:16 PM   #9
Cobra64
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Power Probe 3


Just like everything else;
"Choose the right tool for the right job!!"
You can't load a circuit with a DVOM and you can't measure current levels with the PP-III!
They all have a proper place in the hands of the professional technician.
jB

Cobra1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Heater blowing out Power to Entire House tbigley Electrical 5 03-02-2011 02:54 PM
Devices to save on phantom power fetzer85 Electrical 7 12-04-2009 08:03 PM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 07:45 PM
Amp meter Results - SE Cable Bad or Power CO jamiedolan Electrical 30 01-23-2009 12:16 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.