Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 02:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Installing a second Horn


I am installing a second horn that will have a separate switch. The horn has one wire coming out of it. I was told I should use a relay. my relay has four prongs.

1 for ground
1 to power supply (fuse box)
1 to horn
1 to switch.

The question is, if I only have one wire coming from the horn, how am I to connect both the horn AND the switch to the relay??? It seems as though the horn has to go to the switch, and then the switch goes to the relay, but that leaves an open prong for either the horn or the switch, depending on which one I use.

What do I do??

Thanks!

zoiberg137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:08 PM   #2
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 559
Default

Installing a second Horn


hook up horn wire to horn terminal on relay.
horn normally grounds by being screwed or bolted to a metal frame.
connect the rest of relay wires as marked. switch to switch, power to power, ground to ground.
you flip the switch, and relay sends power to the horn. relays it. just make sure you have good horn ground.

ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Installing a second Horn


Ok so by doing it that way I will only have ONE wire going from my switch to the relay, even though the switch has two terminals on it...

I admit that I don't know much about electricity but I always thought you had to have a loop of some sort. Just for curiosity, could you explain how having only one wire going from the switch to the relay can work??

Thanks!
zoiberg137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:29 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Installing a second Horn


The metal parts of the car make up the negative 'wire' in most cases.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 06:46 AM   #5
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,428
Default

Installing a second Horn


This is for a Bosch relay.
A power wire goes to one side of the switch. The other wire of the switch goes to relay terminal 85. terminal 86 gets a wire to ground. 30 gets fused battery power. 87 goes to horn.
When you turn the switch on, a small current flows through the switch to the relay, completes the relay ckt, closes the contacts, and allows a larger current to flow from pin 30 to your load.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing vinyl fenching over chain link? rbove8 General DIY Discussions 3 05-02-2011 09:54 PM
Toilet Wax Ring & Horn capt2 Plumbing 2 07-19-2008 09:24 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM
Installing an island on floating engineered wood floor funktional Flooring 11 03-14-2008 06:19 AM
Disaster strikes...Broken Toilet HORN! J187 Plumbing 13 07-25-2006 09:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.