Hack Tire Pressure Monitor On GM's - Automotive Repairs - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2011, 01:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Hack tire pressure monitor on GM's


I'm always getting false pressure reports on my GM Montana van.
As this feature cannot be hacked in the computer, I'm thinking of removing the sensors from the wheels and installing them all in the spare wheel.

The GM sensors are part of the valve assembly so all I need do is drill 3 more valve holes in the spare rim and transfer the senders from the wheels. Replace the four valves and I'd be away to the races.

Have I over-looked any considerations in doing this?

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 07:39 PM   #2
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,301
Rewards Points: 1,054
Default

Hack tire pressure monitor on GM's


Ummm, Yup ! My understanding, from experience working in an auto parts store and visiting shops--MOST of the TPS units used on auto/light trucks nowadays actually know the tire is rotating. You will get a reading while sitting still in the driveway/parking lot but eventually the 'puter will know the tire is not rotating.

Advertisement

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 11:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Hack tire pressure monitor on GM's


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
Ummm, Yup ! My understanding, from experience working in an auto parts store and visiting shops--MOST of the TPS units used on auto/light trucks nowadays actually know the tire is rotating. You will get a reading while sitting still in the driveway/parking lot but eventually the 'puter will know the tire is not rotating.
Thanks for the reply! This stirs up a whole bunch of new questions for me.
Where I live its recommended that we should use 4 snow tires in the winter. In fact, in Quebec snow tires are required by law.

In the past I have had my snow tires mounted on rims, to avoid mounting and removing the tires.
To do this with TPS, I will have to buy 4 more sensors.

Another question, is how can my computer tell if its getting a signal from my tires or the one that is parked beside it?
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boiler pressure troubles jduffett HVAC 2 12-12-2010 08:15 AM
Intermittent Low Water Pressure Fox Plumbing 4 03-02-2010 07:04 AM
Older air compressor wiring help lash-1295 Electrical 91 12-23-2009 01:46 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 07:14 PM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 10:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts