Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-13-2013, 04:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

General and Specific Questions on Clutch Replacement 2000 Celica GTS

I'm about to do a clutch replacement in my car since the clutch is slipping and I just have some general, as well as some specific questions about the process. First off, the car is a 2000 Toyota Celica GT-S with 80,000 miles with Manual Transmission (obviously manual trans). It's a front wheel drive car. This is my first time doing a clutch replacment, so I have a few questions about the process. Please feel free to answer what you feel comfortable or knowledgeable answering, I know this is a long list of questions so just answer whatever you have the time for. I appreciate it, thanks

1) Is there anything one can do to inspect the clutch system to make sure something can be adjusted or not to fix a slipping clutch before tearing apart your car to get to the transmission? I have a hydraulic clutch I believe, and was just wondering if there was something I could adjust or fix to get a clutch to not slip... like bearing free travel or seeing if fluid was low in the clutch master cylinder or something?

2)Once I complete my clutch replacement, will I need to get a wheel alignment done? I will be removing lots of components, such as the front axle, and thought this may affect alignment.

3)Are you supposed to replace the rear main seal when doing a clutch replacement? Is this normally replaced when people replace their clutches? If so, how long would this take a general DIY'er to do?

4)If it isn't necessary to replace a rear main seal, how long do they generally last before they leak oil?