EGR Valve On '98 Isuzu Rodeo - Automotive Repairs - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-13-2011, 08:31 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 77

EGR valve on '98 Isuzu Rodeo

Seems like this "new" truck is becoming more work than it's worth...(I'm not a mechanic by many people's stretch of imagination but I'm learning as I go on this one...which is fun but frustrating at the same time)...

Check engine light came on and we got multiple codes. We gave it a tune up (plugs, fluids etc) and the light came back on.

Took it to Autozone to get the codes read again...EGR valve issues still (P0401 & P0402)...the only thing that wasn't addressed in our tune up. Replaced the valve and the light came back on...haven't taken it to get the codes read yet but I'm curious if there is something else to check. Autozone is 45 minutes away and the local mechanics all charge to have it done.

With the hood up, when I turn the engine off, there is a slight hiss, as if there is a leak in a vacuum hose somewhere. Not sure if that is a normal sound and/or is related to my issue. May be being paranoid but I don't have anyway of knowing which hose(s) to check.

Advertisement

TJMS81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 11:01 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 544

hate to say this, but Rodeos are known "rid of me asap" cars. donno if you are really into offroading, so you might be better off with a Samurai or Sidekick. otherwise, Rodeos are money pits. sorry did not help much. no, there should be no hisses and such. it's no steam engine.

Advertisement

ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:41 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

Have seen alot of problems with the intake side of EGR Port Restricted with carbon build up. Try Putting compressed air to Intake side of port.
mitsuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:42 PM   #4