Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2008, 10:23 AM   #1
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,115
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Chrysler Town & Country cigar lighter power?


My 1999 Chrysler Town & Country loses power to the cigar lighter socket when the ignition is off (designed that way). It is a nusance using my cell phone charger. The dealership wants $100 to keep the lighter socket hot all the time. Is there any way I could wire this myself to keeo constant power on the lighter socket?

rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 06:05 AM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Chrysler Town & Country cigar lighter power?


Ayuh,....

Find a source for Unswitched Power,+ route it to the lighter.....

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 09:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Chrysler Town & Country cigar lighter power?


You might ask them why it is 100$..
I had wrote out an explanation of how to wire it in,but then I remembered that the cigarette lighter is the power source of the ALDL on almost every car.
The ALDL is what we plug into under the dash to read the computer in the car. The power source for this is also routed to the cigarette lighter,which drives us crazy since people love dropping change in it and shorting the fuse which makes us hunt for it to read the computer.
More than likely it shouldn't be powered all the time,which could cause bad effects on the pcm or ALDL which connects to all the car's computer systems.
Anyway,I believe your best bet would be to simply add a second one. Any stereo shop will probably do it for you for 30$ or less,shouldn't take long.
You could do it yourself,they are cheap at Autozone and you can run your own wires into your console or glovebox and they are easy to mount.
Simply drill a hole and slip it in pretty much.

Last edited by DefEddie; 03-19-2008 at 09:31 PM.
DefEddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.