Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 01:08 PM   #16
Member
 
r0ckstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 1,168
Rewards Points: 660
Default

Check engine light


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
A 1996 should have a OBD2, since that is when they were widely adopted.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On-board_diagnostics
For the F150, OBD II officially started with the '96, beginning with vehicles manufactured ~ August '95. There are some '96's that were still OBD1.

That said, an easy way to tell is to just look at the diagnostics terminal.

OBD1


OBD2

r0ckstarr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:10 PM   #17
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 582
Default

Check engine light


Mine was manufactured in Aug. 95 and has the newer socket style but it is located below the glove box.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 06:41 AM   #18
Member
 
r0ckstarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 1,168
Rewards Points: 660
Default

Check engine light


I got an OBDII reader for my '96 Ford off of eBay about 5yrs ago for $20.00. It can read and clear the codes.
r0ckstarr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 12:56 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Check engine light


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
I heard that it would go off on its own eventually. I drove to Indy and back yesterday and it remained on so maybe there is a hose I missed somewhere.
you have to drive and stop 3 times or 4, just driving and turning it off and then back on wont do it.
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:11 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Windsor, CT
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Check engine light


How many miles total have you put on the car since you replaced the hoses? Worth considering might actually be running lean, or a sensor has failed. I agree with other though, step 1 is to clear the code with a 10 minute (minimum) battery disconnect.
teamcampreder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:31 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Northwest Tennessee
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Check engine light


Its probley a 02 sensor code. Disconnect your battery for 30 minutes and then reconnect it, That will reset the PCM. I am a transmission mechanic and to unhook it and put it back on is ok. If i can help you in anyway I will.
waterlogged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:07 AM   #22
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 582
Default

Check engine light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardway View Post
you have to drive and stop 3 times or 4, just driving and turning it off and then back on wont do it.
It was 125 mile run, 4 hour stop. 125 mile run back, overnight stop. 7 mile run, 30 minute stop, 7 mile run back overnight stop. etc.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:12 AM   #23
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 582
Default

Check engine light


Quote:
Originally Posted by teamcampreder View Post
How many miles total have you put on the car since you replaced the hoses? Worth considering might actually be running lean, or a sensor has failed. I agree with other though, step 1 is to clear the code with a 10 minute (minimum) battery disconnect.
Yeah I figure the disconnect is the easiest thing to do next. It runs perfect and if there is a lean condition it is slight enough that the tell tale exhuast aroma isn't there.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 01:11 PM   #24
English Only Please
 
BirdSlapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Anoka, MN
Posts: 93
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Check engine light


I may have missed it, but did you clean the Mass air sensor yet? Believe it or not, a dirty mass air sensor can trick a computer into all sorts of codes. If not, get some mass air sensor cleaner and security torx. Be very careful not to damage the sensor and don't touch the delicate wires inside the sensor!

BirdSlapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 01:37 PM
Adding 2 more lights to existing light BCH_COLIN Electrical 7 01-24-2011 11:04 AM
Basic light wiring question speedster1 Electrical 3 11-29-2010 06:48 PM
Ceiling Fan with Light kit - Light not working aadams Electrical 12 11-03-2010 06:32 PM
Engine Light, Steering Fluid sweaty Automotive Repairs 3 08-09-2009 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.