Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 01:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LUBBOCK, TEXAS
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

Bypassing the airconditioner compressor


I have a 2007 Ford Tauras and would like to know. Can I bypass the compressor. It is trying to lock down and for now I just need to bypass it because I can not afford to replace the compressor.

ROBBYT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 262
Default

Bypassing the airconditioner compressor


That depends. Is it the pulley bearing that is locked up or the compressor itself? Does it work ok with the ac off, if so unplug the compressor so it can't engage. If it's the bearing for the pulley you are out of luck.

cjm94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 06:07 PM   #3
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,258
Default

Bypassing the airconditioner compressor


Depending on the vehicle: You may be able to find a parts store in your area with an "old timer" who knows how to look up a shorter drive belt, either the older "V" style or the serpentine style, which would by-pass the A/C compressor. OR: For some cars they(Dorman more than likely) make an idler pulley kit which replaces the A/C compressor totally allowing you to use the original belt.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 08:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Bypassing the airconditioner compressor


If all else fails, maybe you could get a used A/C compressor at a wrecking yard for not too much. Then replace it and leave the wire disconnected.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 10:01 PM   #5
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 563
Default

Bypassing the airconditioner compressor


on many cars, a/c is optional. you can simply buy a belt for no a/c version. it automatically bypasses a/c pulley. any knowledgeable parts store guy can find you a shorter belt, if needed.
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:18 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,280
Default

Bypassing the airconditioner compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by ukrkoz View Post
on many cars, a/c is optional. you can simply buy a belt for no a/c version. it automatically bypasses a/c pulley. any knowledgeable parts store guy can find you a shorter belt, if needed.
Good idea. I agree. Worst, buy a used one as mantioned above at car-part.com. You can scroll (no ac compressor pun!) down to the cheapest compressor and order that!

__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 phase 230/460 air compressor install questions DinAZ Electrical 7 10-21-2011 10:28 PM
Help assembling compressor jfhspike Tools 5 03-27-2011 10:07 AM
Air compressor and framing nailer for DIY ADKstorm Tools 20 11-11-2010 07:38 AM
Please help: blown fuse, slow compressor fan, and hissing noise from compressor frazwr01 HVAC 10 06-27-2010 09:08 PM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 08:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.