Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2008, 01:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 39
Share |
Default

Blower Doesn;t Work - But Does!!


My 2005 Ford Focus heating/air blower doesn't work at all. The fuse is ok. I took out the blower, and put a ground and hot wire to the blower motor and it works.
I checked the wiring coming to the motor and one wire is hot, as long as the ignition is on, no matter what position the blower motor switch is on.
Even though that wire is hot, when I put the connector back on the blower motor, nothing happens.....even though my tester says their is juice coming to the connector, and when I hot wire the motor directly it runs. The connector seems to go right on to the leads to the motor, nothing in between...but it doesn't run. HOW CAN THIS BE??
The manual said something about a resistor.....but I can find nothing. It's only two fat wires to a connector...that plugs into two leads that carry the juice to the motor. Again, when I hot wire it....it works, When I plug in the connector that shows there is electric, there is nothing. HELP PLEASE!!
fauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 05:07 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,591
Default

Blower Doesn;t Work - But Does!!


Ayuh,.....

That's because Ford, in their Infinite Wisdom, runs the Power to the appliance,+ controls the said appliance by regulating the Ground......

When you start looking at it Assbackwards,.......... It makes Perfect Sense........
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 03:26 PM   #3
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,347
Default

Blower Doesn;t Work - But Does!!


Use a 12 volt test light (not a DVOM) between the terminals at the blower motor and the hot lead to a body ground. Take care not to spread the female ends.

Was this car in an accident? Check for pinched, nicked and corroded wires. With stranded and corroded wires it is possible for you to read voltage with a DVOM but will not operate a load (blower motor/test light) because you are not getting enough current.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 04:31 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Blower Doesn;t Work - But Does!!


There is a resistor behind the glovebox on the blower housing. If you go to the dealer to get the part, which costs about $20, they should be able to print out a diagram of where the part is. I would almost bet you dinner that the blower will run on high the way it is now.
skinnyj41004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Low speed blower won't work in auto mode Eric F HVAC 16 10-29-2008 05:24 PM
HVAC contractor ripoff! sekntonone HVAC 8 04-05-2008 07:15 AM
Blower control board mlmaher HVAC 1 11-24-2007 01:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.