Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2013, 10:58 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Share |
Default

Battery replacement needed?


I had my 2010 Kia Sedona at Jiffy Lube for an oil change and as usual, they tried to sell me more things. One thing they suggested was a new battery. They gave me a printout with Interstate Batteries at the top. It said for battery results, Voltage: 12.49V, Measured: 348CCA, Rated: 660CCA, Temperature: 82 degrees F.

The car starts fine. Is this something I should be concerned about, or should I wait until I have a problem?

Thanks.

bucksone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:05 AM   #2
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 1,672
Default

Battery replacement needed?


I don't know.... but I'm going to watch this thread closely.

I've had a battery issue with one of my cars that draws alot of battery after it's off.... known problem with the model.

I took my battery to test at Walmart/ Checker/ Sears/ and Autozone.

I got back two reports of good battery and two reports of bad battery.

So, bottom line, I'm skeptical.

Best

Peter

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:41 AM   #3
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Battery replacement needed?


You need 12 volts to start your car.
You have that based on the "test" results.
Your fine.
Once your car starts everything runs off of the alternator which also recharges the battery.
I would also add that you NEVER trust a guy at jiffy lube to diagnose your car.
They're salesmen, not mechanics.

Btw, , that CCA is an acronym for, Cold Cranking Amps.

Last edited by sublime2; 07-01-2013 at 11:56 AM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:49 AM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,230
Default

Battery replacement needed?


12.49 Vdc? And the issue is?????????????

You might find this link of interest...

http://www.batterystuff.com/kb/artic...-basics.html#6

Your battery is 3 years old.....it could fail tomorrow....you might get another 4 years out of it. In most cases they work fine and then just go....very difficult to predict when they will die...

The voltage is fine....what is really happening is that Jiffy lube is more or less proving that they are trying to sell you something you don't need.

If your really worried about it...spend the money on a AAA membership....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 86
Default

Battery replacement needed?


Thanks for the replies. While I'm used to Jiffy Lube trying to sell more services, they seemed a little more pushy than usual today.

Oh, I'm a 28-year member of AAA. Best money ever spent.
bucksone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 05:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 474
Default

Battery replacement needed?


You don't need a battery based on that data.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 09:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 231
Default

Battery replacement needed?


At half cca available hand held testers will say its bad. Could mean a weak battery or its just not charged back up from starting the engine. We never replace a battery based on the hand held testers they are for a quick test if that shows weak it needs to be tested with a good load tester.
cjm94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:50 PM   #8
Lord of Slums
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit Mi
Posts: 635
Default

Battery replacement needed?


The local battery guru told me if your battery is slow to crank after sitting over night it is probably bad. He said, the best test is a customer filed testing it in the vehicle. Better than any test they can run with gauges.

mj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Size of Replacement Window joside Remodeling 10 05-30-2012 04:46 PM
Whole house UPS Red Squirrel Electrical 18 01-31-2011 03:46 PM
Need advice on cordless drill brand with a battery life of over 5 years?? stanlam Building & Construction 7 08-09-2010 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.