Ac Comp Doesnt Kick On - Automotive Repairs - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2013, 06:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


OK, nother problem with same car- 88 sunbird. Aftermarket ac system. No cold air, so I checked for voltage and no voltage to comp. All I can meassure is static psi, which is usually useless, but its about 110 psi.

Dont want to indiscriminately add R134a unless I check other stuff out. Why is comp dead? Its power source is the alternator, and I folowed it to the relay after which, no power. Theres a blue wire going to the cowl area, I figure, to the evap unit/TXV valve. What do I do now, people?

Advertisement

__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 06:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 465
Rewards Points: 292
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Quote:
Originally Posted by noquacks View Post
OK, nother problem with same car- 88 sunbird. Aftermarket ac system. No cold air, so I checked for voltage and no voltage to comp. All I can meassure is static psi, which is usually useless, but its about 110 psi.

Dont want to indiscriminately add R134a unless I check other stuff out. Why is comp dead? Its power source is the alternator, and I folowed it to the relay after which, no power. Theres a blue wire going to the cowl area, I figure, to the evap unit/TXV valve. What do I do now, people?
a few thing's , if low on feron the unit will not kick the comp. on, does the comp. lock on of is is just free spinning ? did it just quick? Best if you know some one to check the freon in the comp. i bet it has a small leak which when it get's to low it will not lock the comp. in ? good luck

Advertisement

del schisler is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to del schisler For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-18-2013)
Old 06-18-2013, 07:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Thnaks, Del. I should have mentioned that I can spin the clutch by hand easily, and it turns prettu smoothly, and nice. I dont need someone to check the freon in the comp- he wouldnt do anything other than what I could, or you could- no way to know actually, unless one empties all out and weighs it.
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 07:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Rewards Points: 250
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Does it have a low pressure switch ? That will keep it from running if the pressure is indeed low. If it was mine, I would be tempted to apply 12 V to the clutch. That will make the compressor run and you can check pressure. Not being able to actually see what you have, not so sure.
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JackDidley For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-19-2013)
Old 06-18-2013, 08:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 298
Rewards Points: 254
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


At 110 psi it should kick in and is probably around a full charge. You could have a bad psi switch. The low side ones tend to fail you can jumper the wires if it kicks on replace the switch. If its a dealer installed after market you may be able to get a wiring diagram from gm.
cjm94 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cjm94 For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-19-2013)
Old 06-19-2013, 07:15 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Good tips. Where are these low pressure switches located? A picture of one would be great, if we could find one on the web. Yes, I could jump the lead wire with 12v too......
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 298
Rewards Points: 254
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


They are usually located on the low psi line near the accumulator-filter/dryer.
cjm94 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cjm94 For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-19-2013)
Old 06-19-2013, 04:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


OK, then, theres no pressure switches anywhere. I heard some comps are like that. Mine is a V5 type- I think it steadily compresses as opposed to the click on/off styles, if that matters.

So, without a low pressure switch, maybe I should try to hot wire the comp from the battery to start it. Then, I can seee the running psi's and go from there, unless theres a beter idea....

meanwhile, lets not forget about that blue wire lead going from the relay thtough the firewall, ending up at the ac controller (a tiny black plastic box, about 2" cubic. I believe thats the controller). I suspect that is responsible for a signal to activate the compressor(???)
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]

Last edited by noquacks; 06-19-2013 at 04:03 PM.
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Im bringing it to my buddy ac mech tomorrow........sheesh.
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 04:43 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Whew- ac mech found it was a fuse. There are 2 fuses on my system. Thought I would report back. Thanks, people.
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 04:58 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


OK, I had cold ac for a day. Fuse blew again. Anybody know what could be the likely cause?

Thaks
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 07:17 PM   #12
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Bad ground. Internal short in a component? I'd check the ground first.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bigplanz For This Useful Post:
noquacks (06-21-2013)
Old 06-24-2013, 09:08 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
Bad ground. Internal short in a component? I'd check the ground first.
After 2 days poking/testing around, looks like grounds are OK, but the microswitch may be bad cuz the spade terminals are "burnt". Im removing it and getting new, but man, hard to find. Its a "Cherry", E-14. Gonna take it to NAPA. I hope/believe this is the culprit.

bad /weak switch can cause amps to go up, heating up wires too much, right? No other thing to blame in my ac system thus far.....wish me luck, people.
__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:31 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: se
Posts: 1,336
Rewards Points: 538
Default

ac comp doesnt kick on


OK- finally switched out 2 burnt spade ends- gotts be the culprit, adnt ehswitch ohms out OK at about 0.2 ohms. Started car, cold ac. Will test it tomorrow- driving it with ac on all the way to work! Whew- tired of drives in 90 deg heat!

lets hope it doesnt blow! (no voltage drop either across the switch terminals for 2-3 minutes- may require more time, though)

Advertisement

__________________
Alexander Pope: [a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing]
noquacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Cool & Heat 8.81 lbs Charge, comp. not running - fan is running justplumducky HVAC 23 07-27-2012 01:52 PM
Central Ac Unit Keep Causing My Electric Braker To Kick Off pamelah1105 HVAC 1 06-18-2012 12:58 PM
Short toe kick height dwardin Flooring 9 03-13-2012 08:53 AM
tile around kitchen island and around kick plates cmlcsu Flooring 4 01-08-2012 11:35 PM
quietest toe kick heater mazzonetv Plumbing 2 01-24-2010 02:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts