Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 12:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Share |
Default

Ac on blazer


Have a big problem, I am changing my accumulator to my ac unit and the back line is frozen on there, I have been at this for an hour and even brought it to a mechanic and still nothing help!!!!! Any tricks, it's the back line going into fire wall I don't want to break it...

bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 03:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 507
Default

Ac on blazer


Cut it out and replace them both. Even if you get it off it won't seal right when you put the new accumulator.

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 03:39 PM   #3
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 558
Default

Ac on blazer


Frozen as in? Not sure about GMs, but Fords have special quick disconnect couplings and require special tool to disconnect them.
Looked at my Silverado book, as they should be quite similar in design. Looks like it's simple nut that holds line via flange, right? And line has O-ring inside of it. Si it's "frozen" at the O-ring likely? Lots of penetrating oil, I should say, and let it soak. Lines are aluminum, apply no force to them.
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 03:42 PM   #4
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 558
Default

Ac on blazer


Hey, Big, you know what it'll take to replace lines that go through firewall?
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 05:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Default

Ac on blazer


I ended up replacing the vaporator it was 100 bucks but damn I couldn't get it off, lol I see metal and aluminum doesn't and shouldn't be together I think after time they locked together with heat but I got it and replaced both, thanks guys...
bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 06:27 PM   #6
Member
 
ukrkoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 558
Default

Ac on blazer


Yeah, unfortunately, any non aluminum metal creates so called bi-metallic pair with aluminum. As a result, you have galvanic currents running between the two, accelerating oxidizing process. In addition, if a/c is not run on a regular basis, it gums up from the freon, and guess where it gums the most - elbows and joints.
ukrkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 06:38 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 217
Default

Ac on blazer


Very true, kinda sucks on the extra cost but It done, now I have alot of new parts lol

bostonwindows30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torch Down Instructions Needed - DIY MikeinBurien Roofing/Siding 86 10-07-2012 11:21 AM
90 chevy blazer darney Automotive Repairs 4 07-23-2009 10:34 PM
2004 S10 Blazer gas tank joeyuk Automotive Repairs 5 06-13-2008 09:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.