Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2007, 04:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

97 pontiac instrument panel access


Recently the instrument panel went out on my Pontiac, GranAm. I was told that there was either a loose connection to the panel, or the panel is shorted
out. I was wondering if anyone has any idea how to get to the panel without taking the whole dashboard off. Thanks

sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 03:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 0
Default

97 pontiac instrument panel access


I guess I must be the only one that has had this problem. If someone else did, and was able to get to the instrument panel, I would appreciate knowing how you did it.

sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 08:42 AM   #3
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 0
Default

97 pontiac instrument panel access


I have a 93 Grand Prix that had the instrument cluster die a few months after I bought it used. They replaced it under warranty so I didnt take it apart.

Check the local auto parts store for the Haynes manual for the car. Only 10-15 bucks and well worth it. I have one for all of my cars. It should show how that comes out.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 11:03 AM   #4
Member
 
NothingsLevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Palmyra, NY
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 0
Default

97 pontiac instrument panel access


You only waited 23 hours before posting your followup. Be patient, replies aren't guaranteed to come immediately.

My wife had a '94 Grand Am which had several electrical problems (I think the cluster even quit a few times on her) before she disposed of it. Her mechanic (this was before we were married) looked into it a few times but was never able to really figure out what it was.

I suspect a loose ground - they're notoriously hard to nail down. I had one in my '99 Dakota which caused the cluster to die on me several times in the course of a 10-mile drive. I pulled & replaced the cluster, didn't help. Removed some of the other electrical boxes inside the glovebox, unhooked & reconnected all the grounds I could find in there, and the problem never came back.

Don't assume it's actually the panel.
NothingsLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 01:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 0
Default

97 pontiac instrument panel access


Thanks for you replies. I've already checked all the fuses and they are OK. It seems to me the next step is to check out the panel. The problem is getting to it.
sluggermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 12:10 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

97 pontiac instrument panel access


hhhmmm... it's seems to be a pretty tough problem...

pondriver07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 09:20 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.