Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-01-2008, 08:33 AM   #1

Share |

'68 Chevy P/U Conversion to FI/700R4?

Hello - I'm new to this part of the forum (usually prowl the carpentry, etc), so please pardon my mistakes, etc.

I'm looking for an early model Chevrolet/GMC pickup for my yougest son. I've restored several 69-72 trucks for my own use, and just finished a '65 2-door hardtop Impala for my middle one, now it's the 'baby's' turn!

I found a '68 that the current owner has sorta combined with a '92 that lost the truck/deer battle in this part of the country! Anyway, he's taken the fuel-injected 5.0 and 700R4 out of the '92 and has it setting in the '68. The entire wire harness and all the engine-mounted sensors are still in place, and I can have any of the parts off the '92 to make it work...if I want to go that route.

I also have a '77 chevy truck with running 350/350 that I could always use to finish the '68.

My question is how much of a pain will it be to go ahead and use the '92 stuff? I'm a good wrench and know my way around these trucks, but I'm not sure what it takes to run the TBI, etc on the motor, and how to deal with the lock-up on the trans. Any input out there?

Thanks,
o_jay66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:17 AM   #2

It's doable, but I think it would be more work than its worth putting the 92 in. You will have to also install the computer, change the fuel lines and other emissions systems (EVAP...). I'd install the 350 and sell the '92 engine.

I'm more interested in your '65 Impala. 327 or 283?
Old 12-01-2008, 11:56 AM   #3