Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-12-2007, 08:29 AM   #1

Share |

1973 Honda 450

I don't know if this is where I should post this or not.

One of my clients gave me his 1973 Honda 450 that he had sitting in his garage for a few years. He said he replaced the carborator and could get it to run but never keep running.

Now it has been sitting for a while and I don't think the bike is worth enough for me to pay someone to get it working.

I plan on draining the tank today. What else should I do to try and get this thing going?

Sorry for the vagueness of my question but I know nothing about cars, or bikes, etc. I am a remodeling contractor. So maybe I can trade advice with some one.

THANKS
Murph

Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 09:22 AM   #2
Agent 000

1973 Honda 450

Hi Murphy! I've been riding bikes some 33 years and have had a couple of those "stored away" bikes.

Here's what I think you'll get into. The battery is probably trashed so you'll need a new one from the get go. They don't last hardly two years. Don't jump start the bike from a car unless you have absolutely no other choice. Draining the gas and putting in fresh is definitely a good idea. I would drop the oil also (yes before getting it started) and put in some fresh with a new filter and after you run the engine a bit and get it circulated then change it again with a new filter. Examine the brake lines for wear and tear and after you get her running you'll want to bleed the hydraulics and put in fresh fluid. Hydrualic fluid does go stale after a few years. Check the brake pads and so forth. I think that bike has a wet clutch and bleed that as well if it does. Check the tires for dry rot and make sure all that is in good order. Change the air filter. Install new spark plugs gapped properly.