Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2010, 03:42 PM   #1
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Share |
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Radio Shack should have it. You need a Single Pole/Double Throw switch, SPDT
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:39 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post
Thanks Proby.

So how does this work, exactly? The center position on the SPDT is the "common"?
Pretty much. I attached a diagram of a 3-way or SPDT switch.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:43 PM   #3
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,299
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


i think the SPDT is the same ON/OFF/ON switch you are already familiar with. I have never heard of using 2 of these as 3 ways, but i'm not saying it won't work, just not sure

I have seen 3-way, 12v switches sold for RV's, but they are large, not like a small dashmount job
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:44 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Chips View Post
i think the SPDT is the same ON/OFF/ON switch you are already familiar with.
A SPDT switch only has (2) positions.

If you go to Radio Shack's website and search for: SPDT you'll find a bunch of them. Try searching for: 275-648 That's a nice one that will work for you.

What are you going to be doing with this switch? How much current?
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.

Last edited by Proby; 08-07-2010 at 06:49 PM.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:57 PM   #5
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,299
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
A SPDT switch only has (2) positions.

If you go to Radio Shack's website and search for: SPDT you'll find a bunch of them. Try searching for: 275-648 That's a nice one that will work for you.

What are you going to be doing with this switch? How much current?
man, it's been a long day..... this should work fine. I'd make sure to use a fuse on the power feed going to the first switch
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:58 PM   #6
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,299
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post

Yes, I have seen them. If I was going that route, I'd just use whatever Levitton I have laying around.
switches rated for 120ac won't handle the direct current well. they are prone to arcing and other problems under direct current. so it/s probably a good thing that you don't want that look
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 07:08 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


I know exactly what you mean about Radio Shack, I use Parts Express instead.

Good luck with your project.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:19 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post
I wasn't aware that a SPDT switch could be used as a 3-way switch. .
what you do is use the first switch as a standard switch (1 line/ 2 load terminals) but on the second switch, you use it backwards (2 line terminals/ 1 load terminal).

simply put; you feed hot to the "C" terminal on one switch and feed from the "C" terminal on the other switch to the load (light). Then you simply connect each of the unused terminals on each switch to an unused terminal on the other switch. Those are your travelers.
viola`, you have a low voltage DC 3 way.

I would suggest you power the first switch with a switched hot that would be hot in either "run" or "acc" on the keyswitch.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 06:03 PM   #9
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,299
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post

Does anyone use spade bits on dash plastic?
i think just about everybody does
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 06:58 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


I'd drill it front thru the rear. I don't think you'll have any issue.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 10:08 PM   #11
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,299
Default

12 Volt 3-Way Panel Mount Switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OnThePike View Post
I'm concerned with a clean hole. There's only 2mm circumference of switch edge (ridge border). That means I only have 1mm to play with. Spade bits tend to drag material and rip edges on plastic.
?
You can always drill an undersized hole, and use a Dremel with the little drumsander bits to open it up a little at a time untill you get a good fit
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 03:17 PM
What switch to install between panel and 220 volt heater Rogers Guitar Electrical 4 01-21-2009 06:08 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 02:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.