Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Automotive Repairs

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2009, 06:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

02 sensor question


94 chevy k1500 4x4 truck 4.3 engine.
has 3 wire 02 sensor in front of cat.
one wire is suppose to be heated, one signal and one ground.
can anyone tell me which is which or how to test.
The truck wires are one wire is purple, one red and one black.
I bought a universal 02 sensor and it has 2 white wires and one black ?
What wires go where?


Last edited by tecate1987; 11-12-2009 at 08:50 PM.
tecate1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2009, 07:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 508
Default

02 sensor question


On a GM car, black is ground. If you go to Autozone's web site they probably have a wiring diagram for the truck.

Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 08:54 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Default

02 sensor question


thanks, I was on autozones web for a diagram.
They didnt have all the wires. There was a purple and a black. no red.
I am not sure how to tell from the sensor either, there are 2 white wires unlabeled. Does it matter where they go?
tecate1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 12:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 508
Default

02 sensor question


Quote:
Originally Posted by tecate1987 View Post
thanks, I was on autozones web for a diagram.
They didnt have all the wires. There was a purple and a black. no red.
I am not sure how to tell from the sensor either, there are 2 white wires unlabeled. Does it matter where they go?
Isn't there some sort of connector that clicks into place on the sensor? Like on an oil pressure sending unit, you disconnect the connector and connect it onto the new sending unit. Isn't the O2 sensor connected the same way?
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2009, 08:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Default

02 sensor question


no, the new wires of the sensor have to be spliced to the old connector.
tecate1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:03 PM   #6
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,246
Default

02 sensor question


We do sell the "Universal O2 Sensor" but really don't like them, and that's one reason. We stock five (5) different "Universal" O2 Sensors. So, what does that tell you, their not so "Universal". Universal O2 Sensors come with different numbers and colors of wiring for different applications. I'm saying--You have the wrong sensor. David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 03:39 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Default

02 sensor question


If you are installing a “universal” 02 sensor tht does not have a heater, it will not make your check engine light go away. 80% of the time an 02 sensor fails it is the heater, not the sensor. You may clear the code, but I promise it will return.
You can check the sensor with a multimeter by measuring resistance across the wires in and out of the sensor. The sensor does not have a ground wire. The sensor is grounded via the exhaust manifold. The 3 wires are: a constant 1 volt input, variable 0 to 1 volt output, and a constant 5 or 12 volts for the heater.

zackinma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.