Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Safety

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2008, 05:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

using compressor indoors


I have recently bought a 6 gallon air compressor and am wondering if i can use it indoors. the instructions say not to, but that seems like overkill.

i am putting in flooring on the second floor and need the thing upstairs, or need to buy a super long air hose.

any precautions?

thanks!

matchley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 06:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

using compressor indoors


Is there a reason it says not to use it indoors? It probably exceeds the safe noise limits operating in a closed space. Wear ear protection and you should be fine. It is an electric compressor right?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 06:44 PM   #3
Drywall and Painting Pro
 
Sir MixAlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne Beach, Florida
Posts: 481
Blog Entries: 1
Default

using compressor indoors


I'd buy the 100' of hose. Then you can communicate w/ others, listen to the radio, and think clearly while working without the loud noise that an air compressor makes. But if you don't mind the noise and the compressor is electric, then ear plugs should do the trick.
Sir MixAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 04:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Lansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 52
Default

using compressor indoors


First I wear hearing aids and now only have 40% of normal hearing left...I hope you can figure why I told you that...I hear ringing in my ears all the time as well...Not nice believe me...

If you can't get a hose long enough to come from outside ?? you could put the rig in a room your not using to cut the noise some in the one your working on ...BUT do wear the right hearing protection...I grew up where they were laughed at but now the hearing aids companies are getting rich of this issue...Its Not over kill....

Last edited by Lansing; 05-12-2008 at 06:27 PM.
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 07:00 AM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

using compressor indoors


be sure to get a longer hose, do NOT go with a long extension cord.

'nuff said

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:21 AM   #6
Member
 
Lansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 52
Default

using compressor indoors


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
be sure to get a longer hose, do NOT go with a long extension cord.

'nuff said

DM
I agree with your answer but could you state the reason why not to use a long cord...
__________________
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
When the time comes for you to leave this world
the only thing you get to keep is what you gave away...
Lansing
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 09:48 AM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

using compressor indoors


compressors have high amps and the longer the cord, the higher the resistance. overheating the cord and screwing up the machine. my old compressor won't even START with an extention cord! it just sits there looking at me all stupid until i plug it in right. (only happened once, but still, i learned.) sorry no explaination before, i was in a hurry.

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 04:12 PM   #8
Member
 
Lansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 52
Default

using compressor indoors


Thanks for the answer...It makes good sense just as you said...
__________________
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
When the time comes for you to leave this world
the only thing you get to keep is what you gave away...
Lansing
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,264
Default

using compressor indoors


Quote:
Originally Posted by matchley View Post
I have recently bought a 6 gallon air compressor and am wondering if i can use it indoors. the instructions say not to, but that seems like overkill.

i am putting in flooring on the second floor and need the thing upstairs, or need to buy a super long air hose.

any precautions?

thanks!
When I bought my air compressor, I also purchased two 50 foot air hoses from Costco for about $60. So far, I've only had to use one, and it's too long most of the time. Still, the small cost of two 50 foot air hoses will allow you to keep your compressor in your basement but use compressed air tools anywhere in your house.
Nestor_Kelebay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 06:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Question

using compressor indoors


why did you need such a large compressor ?
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 03:36 AM   #11
Member
 
Lansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 52
Default

using compressor indoors


Was told that its better to buy more air than less when getting a compressor...Whatever the project your needs will be covered...
__________________
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
When the time comes for you to leave this world
the only thing you get to keep is what you gave away...
Lansing
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 07:48 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 7
Default

using compressor indoors


You can never have enough air. I like to buy compressors that pump to 200 psi and have good scfm. That way I have enough air to run my guns and have enough psi so if I need to use it to take lug nuts off with an impact wrench it has enough oommphff to do it

Last edited by duane1982; 12-05-2008 at 07:56 PM.
duane1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:32 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 488
Default

using compressor indoors


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
why did you need such a large compressor ?

A 6 gallon compressor does not seem very LARGE it would still be very portable and would be able to be plugged into a standard wall outlet. I use compressors for everything from air files, impacts, spray gun to roofing nailers. I haven't used much smaller then a 20 gallon for anything but to fill tires in quite some time.


Compressors small or large are noisy and ideally should be located away from your work area regardless of size.

__________________
Mgmopar
MgMopar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.