Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Safety

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-29-2008, 12:37 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Nail gun shock injuries

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the forum but had a few questions for everyone regarding nail guns and shock related injuries.

I'm a student at Worcester Polytechnic Institute and for one of my grad classes we are applying axiomatic design to manufacturing tools and processes to improve them (don't worry, I don't know what axiomatic design is either :-P) . Our group decided to look into nail guns and the possibility of creating some kind of shock absorbing system to help eliminate shock related injury.

I have very little experience with nail guns (especially over long periods of time) and wanted to ask a more experienced group about these particular injuries. Would you say there is a high risk in frequent nail gun users to develop repetitive strain injury or shock injury due to the constant impact of the nail gun? What sort of injuries have you had yourself? Do you feel tingling in your arm after a day’s worth of nailing? Any information you can provide would be extremely helpful to our project. I appreciate and anxiously await your replies.

-Dan

dswan388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2008, 03:03 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Nail gun shock injuries

I have never seen RSI (repetitive stress injuries) with nail guns. I have used one for many years. In fact I don't remember how to drive a nail with a hammer.

The biggest injuries are from accidental firing of the gun and a nail flying somewhere. As a retired paramedic I used to see lots of these.

Most people don't use them enough to cause RSI. You have to understand that people that work in the building trades are not complainers. If they have an injury they just deal with it. If they get some sort of RSI they adjust how they are doing things so that it doesn't continue.