Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Safety

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2012, 12:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Junction box


Is a junction box necessary?

D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:41 AM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,502
Default

Junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by D'brat View Post
Is a junction box necessary?
All depends on what? Why? when? where? You posted this question on the Safety Forum. Did you mean to post your question on the Electrical Forum?

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 07:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Junction box


Almost always and probably should post in electrical.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois, Chicago area
Posts: 305
Default

Junction box


If the wire is long enough, you don't need a junction box. You usually need a box if you are putting in an outlet or switch.
packer_rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 03:59 PM   #5
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,843
Default

Junction box


If you have to ask you probably shouldn't be messing with electricity.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Maintenance 6 For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (06-05-2012)
Old 05-06-2012, 08:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 104
Default

Junction box


Is it electricity? if 2 or more cables need to be joined together, it must be housed in a covered junction box. if you have an oulet, switch, light fixture....etc. the wire connections must be housed in a covered junction box. If the end of one cable isnt being used it must be housed in a covered junction box.
bryan1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 104
Default

Junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maintenance 6 View Post
If you have to ask you probably shouldn't be messing with electricity.
Amen brother.....preach it again.

bryan1282 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Light on Round Junction Service Box MegR Electrical 7 07-07-2013 08:31 PM
Garage feeder junction box bonding WillK Electrical 0 06-05-2011 10:03 AM
grounding old 2 wire junction to grounded junction gm8075 Electrical 3 03-28-2011 11:46 AM
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 02:37 PM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.