How Long Can I Leave The Air In Compressor? - Safety - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Equipment & Safety > Safety

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-13-2009, 01:09 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How long can I leave the air in compressor?

Hi, I am a newbie. I can't find my manual for my porter cable CFNBNS kit. I bought it quite some time back and I think I threw away the manual. I can't even remember if it came with a manual but I have the break in instructions. Anyway, I finally used it today but now I don't know if I have to release the remaining air in the compressor after every use. Or can I just keep it there until next time I use it? If not, how long can I leave the air in without ruining the compressor or causing a safety issue the next time I use the air that has been left in the compressor?

I tried searching for this topic in the forum but I can't seem to find the answer. So I apologize if this question has been posted and answered before.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Advertisement

norwei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 06:29 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

You should remove the air after using it every day. There is a relief valve at the bottom of the tank. Tilt the tank towards this valve while you open it to let the air out. This also lets all the water which is extracted from the air due to compression. Without letting the air out you leave the water in the tank. Water in the tank will rust out the tank.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 06:48 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 25

Quote:
Originally Posted by norwei View Post