THIS Is Why You Don't Use Latex Deck Stain - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-11-2010, 12:02 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 1,068

THIS is why you don't use Latex Deck Stain

This deck was stained with Behr Latex Deck & Fence stain less than 2 years ago right before my girlfriend bought the house. I saw the cans in the basement on one of the walkthroughs and knew what was going to happen. It was probably 1/2 this bad after the first winter. No, it is not a problem with the wood or application or anything like that. It is what latex stain does on bare wood. USE OIL BASED STAIN !!!!

Advertisement

Matthewt1970 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 01:18 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 150

That's stain? It looks like a completely opaque surface film, like paint.

I do not know about decks, but I've been a woodworker for 30 years and all the stains and dyes I've ever worked with were absorbed by the wood, they did not build a film. The closest to a surface film I've used is a glazing operation, using acetone base stain through a spray gun, but that's as thin as water, transparent, and also builds no appreciable film.

Latex Stain?

Advertisement

Last edited by Lovegasoline; 06-11-2010 at 01:23 PM.
Lovegasoline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 04:32 PM   #3

That's one of the problems with Latex Stain. It doesn't penetrate into the wood.
Old 06-11-2010, 06:21 PM   #4
paper hanger and painter

Rewards Points: 2,222

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovegasoline View Post
That's stain? It looks like a completely opaque surface film, like paint.