What Make Better Paint "better"? - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-30-2006, 03:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

What make better paint "better"?

I'm a novice when it comes to painting, so this is just trying to learn a little more. When I lived in an apartment any of the painting I did I used any of the paints I could get at Home Depot..aka Behr, mainly because I didn't care. Now I'm in my own home and because of all the advise and reading from this site I've stepped up to a better paint, for my bathroom and hallway I've used Benjamin Moore.
I don't have enough experience to see a clear difference in the quality of the paints, other than it seems like I have to go over an area less to cover it, but I thought that might be from using a good roller instead of a throw away.
So my question to all the pro's and people who paint alot is what difference do you see between the cheap paint and the better brands that makes you swear by them?

Advertisement

ERIK2173 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 03:31 PM   #2
Home Improvement Guy

Rewards Points: 250

I'm not a pro, but I like to use the motor oil analogy. You can buy the cheap generic stuff or you can buy the best synthetic oil. It's all about special additives, quality ingredients, and not being watered down. You really do get what you pay for. A cheap paint will do the job but won't cover as well or look as good. It's the same thing with paint brushes.

Advertisement

ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2006, 06:05 PM   #3

I guessed that's what I figured. The people who owned the house before me used cheaper paints inside and while they do look O.K. after painting other parts of the house the cheap paint almost looks chaulky to me.
Old 05-30-2006, 07:40 PM   #4
Pro Painter