Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-02-2013, 01:41 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

What kind of paint can I spray?

Howdy,

I am a rattle can pro, any color any object anywhere, mostly timber. Unfortunately the finish is simply not good enough for me anymore. So I have just gotten my hands on an air compressor (12gal 150psi), and will soon be getting a spray gun, in the hopes of that perfectly smooth finish. I can find a lot of info on how to spray, but almost none on what to spray.

What can I spray? color, latex, oil, poly, lacquer, stain. I know they need to be thinned , but with what and how much. And where can I purchase cans of these from, Home Depot?? premixed only in the paint section?

I would appreciate any advice on how to get started spraying.

Thanks!!

Strife_Design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:42 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,318

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strife_Design View Post
Howdy,

I am a rattle can pro, any color any object anywhere, mostly timber. Unfortunately the finish is simply not good enough for me anymore. So I have just gotten my hands on an air compressor (12gal 150psi), and will soon be getting a spray gun, in the hopes of that perfectly smooth finish. I can find a lot of info on how to spray, but almost none on what to spray.

What can I spray? color, latex, oil, poly, lacquer, stain. I know they need to be thinned , but with what and how much. And where can I purchase cans of these from, Home Depot?? premixed only in the paint section?

I would appreciate any advice on how to get started spraying.

Thanks!!
All your questions depend on the type of sprayer you get, airless, hvlp, Wagner buzz sprayer.