Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-25-2013, 04:44 PM   #1

Share |

What to do with this catastrophic paint job??

Hi everybody, newbie here who has never painted anything in his life, so wish me luck!

I would like to paint my bedroom, and, honest to God, I have never seen a paint job worse than the one in my house. I have lived here for half a decade and can't stand it anymore. I'm getting checked for lead paint soon, and, if I pass, I'm going to start painting. But, focusing only on my bedroom...

Okay, first things first. There is a wallpaper border that, in certain areas, when I try to peel off, peels the paint off with it (see attachments 1 and 2). My plan of action is ripping off the wallpaper (maybe with some hot water), scraping the areas where the paint is coming off, and then applying spackle, then sanding.

In addition, in a few areas on my walls the paint is peeling by itself, so, same thing, I will scrape it off as much as I can, then spackle, then sand (see attachments 3 and 4).

More curiously, however, in numerous places on my ceiling, I have some small, hard lumps that I originally thought were nail pops. However, one of them is actually an indentation rather than a lump (see attachment 5), which excludes the possibility of nail pops. I have some more pictures (see attachment 6). Anyone have any idea what these are? Can I just spackle the indentation and try to sand the lumps?

Also, all around my window and window border there is some sloppily applied silicone caulk. How do I dissolve that? I heard acetone works a little, but not that well. I don't mind damaging the existing paint.