Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-04-2013, 06:54 AM   #1

Share |

Valspar Duramax or SW Duration

Hello,
i am new to DIY chatroom and have question. I am about to paint my house. I just ha alot of siding replaced and about to caulk and paint.
i would consider myself a competent DIY handyman. I no professsional but I'm no dummy either.
here is my question. I live in somewhat rural East Texas. i don't have 20 different paint stores to choose from. We do have SW location and a Lowes. I want a good paint that will resist fading from the 100 degree plus weather we get here in Texas. Here is the big question.
Is Valspar Duramax a decent paint comparted to SW Duration?
here is a few point to keep in mind.
yes i will actually prime first using Zinzer Bullseye 123.
SW duration at my local SW is $78 a gallon!
Valspar Duramax is $48

its obvious that Duration is probably a better paint, but $30 a gallon better?
Please keep in mind these are really my only 2 options at this point i dont' have acces to Glidden, Behr, BM or any other sources.

also i know that caulking is a huge big decision too any suggestions on caulk brand would help too. Im open here for any brand becasue i can get it thanks to the internet.

cassieaaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 07:07 AM   #2

For Price point I would go with SW Super paint, Duration is great but not $78.00 worth.
SW is always having sales, may want to check when the next one is.
I use Alex 230 for caulking and never had any issues.

Old 06-04-2013, 07:20 AM   #3

Thanks,
i heard about he Alex caulk from the guy that did my remodel as well.
I priced the SW Super paint it was $62 a gallon.