Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-24-2013, 11:51 PM   #1

Share |

Using heat gun near vinyl siding

Hi!

I need to repaint wooden window frames. I was planning on using a heat gun to strip the old paint. Problem is, our house is covered with vinyl siding.
I've never used a heat gun before, just don't want to ignite a whole house with a press of the button.
I was wondering if any of you have any experience with it, maybe some tips to share?

Cheers,
s

sickac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 01:24 AM   #2

Vinyl will easily melt/warp. I would not use a heatgun anywhere near vinyl. You also need to be careful with any strippers near vinyl, especially if the wife is around. I would first go after it with a palm sander.

Old 05-25-2013, 02:15 AM   #3
Retired from the grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by sickac View Post
Hi!

I need to repaint wooden window frames. I was planning on using a heat gun to strip the old paint. Problem is, our house is covered with vinyl siding.
I've never used a heat gun before, just don't want to ignite a whole house with a press of the button.
I was wondering if any of you have any experience with it, maybe some tips to share?

Cheers,
s
Do not use it, unless you know how to use it. As for the wood, there are other methods out there, besides sanding all day. You just need to scrape the loose stuff off, then sand any chalky surfaces that the primer will not adhere to, before you apply paint.

Look at it as a team effort, when it comes to this stuff, due to depending on how many windows you have, and how large they are, you can spend anywhere from a couple of hours, to a whole day on just one window frame.

Post some pictures of the front, back, sides showing what you are dealing with, so that we can give you better ideas on how to attack this task.