Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-11-2012, 09:41 AM   #1
Hardcore DIY'er

Share |

Techniques and tips

I noticed this subforum doesnt have any techniques and tips, as a regular to many forums I think a post with tips and techniques is an invaluable tool.

I am not a professional, but I do play one at home. My Father In Law used to paint houses back in the day with a professional crew and this last year he helped me prep one of my properties for sale. I am a hardcore DIY'er. I have ALWAYS hated painting, until he worked with me and taught me a few things.

1. Prep - a day of prep is better than 2 days of work

The first day on our paint project we devoted entirely to prepping the walls and trim for paint. This meant doing the following.
  • Remove all items from the room (furniture, plants, standing lights...)
  • Remove all outlet covers, switchplate covers, and the trim piece near the ceiling on ceiling fans/lights
  • Clean those dust bunnies, before you caulk clean the areas with a damp rag, you can use the one you plan to use for caulk as long as you rinse it out. I keep a 5 gallon bucket with about 4" of water in the bottom with me for rinsing my work rag out.
  • Scrape up your junk, if you see high nibs use a 5 way or 5 in 1 tool. Scrape up those edges, use the corner to clean out those crevices. Use your 5 way, its a great tool, if you dont have one, buy one, you will want it for cleaning your roller covers.