Strong Ammonia Smell With Glidden 2in1 - Painting - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Painting

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-23-2011, 10:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Strong ammonia smell with Glidden 2in1

Made the mistake of buying some Glidden 2n1 brilliance exterior paint-semi gloss.
I say mistake because I don't think I have ever used such an awful paint. Was painting a white front door red. Already on 3 rd coat and still don't have a consistent color or finish.
I am not a professional, but have done a fair amount of painting in my time.
It does not self level at all and dries far too quickly.

I have come to the decison that I will have to re-prep the door and paint with another paint.

However my biggest concern was the very strong smell of ammonia or peroxide coming from the paint tin as soon as I opened it.Glidden claim is low VOC. At one point my eyes were burning and the morning after I applied the first coat I awoke with awful sinus pain and a headache.

Is this normal, or have I somehow got a bad batch?

Advertisement

Last edited by misswoosie; 10-23-2011 at 10:56 PM.
misswoosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 07:13 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Welcome Misswoosie, Ammonia is not an uncommon smell with paint. While ammonia can be toxic, I don't believe it is considered a VOC by government. Low or zero VOC doesn't mean non-toxic. "Green" paints are still very poisonous, they just don't emit certain supposed polluting organic compounds their ancestors did. Organic compounds, by definition, contain carbon. Hydrocarbons are the "villian". Ammonia doesn't contain carbon. If you contact Glidden, they could probably answer your question better.
Joe

Advertisement

jsheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 07:23 AM   #3
Rubbin walls since'79

Rewards Points: 2,000